We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
R 1 360
Fully refundable before Fri, 03 May
Agoda.com
R 980
Fully refundable before Fri, 03 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
96
115
42
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
115
42
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monte casino rooms are comfortable great value for money breakfast was delicious business montecasino johannesburg supper security pleasure channels conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2023

Poor service and attention to guest needs. Proper hospitality training is required for the entire staff.

Rooms could be cleaned better.

My room had no usb outlets except on the television. No fridge in the rooms either.
Rooms not soundproof. I could hear my neighbor clearly even when he was brushing his teeth....
The service at supper was terrible. Having the hotel at capacity or even slightly fuller that 50 % seemed to much to handle for the staff. Basic questions to any of the staff was met with answers like " I don't understand; or I don't know." No other recommendations or even assistance in just helping to find an answer. (These were questions like which mall is nearest or better to visit; or do you have X drink that can be served)

Date of stay: February 2023
Thank Curious51852488978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2023

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback regarding our staff's service and attentiveness. We will address this with our team to ensure that our guests receive the highest level of hospitality.

In regards to your room, we apologize for the inconvenience of not having enough outlets and a fridge. We will take this into consideration for future renovations. We also apologise for the lack of soundproofing in the rooms, and we will see if there is a way we can improve this aspect of our facilities.

We are disappointed to hear that our supper service did not meet your expectations. We will take your feedback into consideration to improve our services. We apologise for any confusion or inconvenience our staff may have caused you during your stay.

We appreciate your comments and hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2023 via mobile

Food orders takes minimum if 2 hours to be prepared . There is no honesty from staff about orders. Restaurant is understaffed and cannot handle orders. They however keep on accepting orders. Thet cannot even give detailed information about nearby food outlets.

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Unimportant2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Thank you for choosing City Lodge Fourways and taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We have taken up the matter with the staff concerned. We hope to see you back in our hotel soon so that we may redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2023

PRO:
- Friendly staff
- Good location
- clean and spacious rooms

CON:
- I was told when I checked in that breakfast started at 06:30. As the bus to the conference departed at 7:30, this was a reasonable time. The first morning went off without issue. The second morning, nothing was prepared and we were suddenly told without warning that breakfast had randomly changed to 07:00. This is very bad from an organizational view and just sends the message that the hotel is disorganized and inefficient.
- All of the staff was very friendly and seem to try to meet the needs of the guest.
However, often a guest would ask for something (e.g. a cappuccino) and have to wait an unreasonable amount of time to get their order (+20 min). I experienced and witnessed this many times.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VaguelyVagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review, we will certainly take your comments to heart and do what we can to make the necessary changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2023

I usually stay at the Southern Sun ( now called Pivot I think ) when I travel to Jo'Burg on business as I like being close to the Montecasino complex - could not get in on this occasion so booked the City Lodge as it was close by. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are just great.....always friendly, smiling and charming. It is a short walk to Montecasino which felt safe even at night. Room was great and very clean, the bed was very comfortable too. I will stay here again on my next visit for sure.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_uk_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2023

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2023 via mobile

As a regular guest at this establishment I can highly recommend it. Great rooms, friendly and efficient staff, good food including excellent breakfasts . Always a pleasure to stay here. Conveniently close to Fourways Mall and Monte Casino. Secure underground parking.

Room tip: This is well priced gem. Try it
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Euan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2023

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews