We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Love to travel, eat and relax
Pretoria, South Africa

weekend getaway

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Mar 2024
Over weekends you can expect to have a row of people waiting to book in but once at the counter the staff are friendly and you are on your way to the room. The hotel has a variety of rooms available. Seating in rooms can be a problem as you only have 1 chair at a table. Small fridge available but be sure to bring your own water bottles as we only had 1 small bottle in fridge. Tea/coffee station available in the room. We opted to have breakfast included in the stay. Breakfast had a wide variety of foods and was tasty with staff topping up on coffee. Can become very busy between 8-9 in the mornings. Parking was great with easy access to the Hotel. Hotel is only a short walk away to the theatre.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Arrive early and wander around the Montecasino complex. Much to see and do
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pivot Hotel, Owner at Pivot Hotel Montecasino, responded to this review
Responded 08 Mar 2024
Good day Sentraal,
Thank you for taking your time to share your review and to rate your recent stay with us at Pivot Hotel in Monte-casino, Johannesburg. We are pleased with your four star rating and grateful to hear that our front desk team were friendly and efficient with booking you in. With regards to the water as per our standard we do put one bottle in the fridge and one in the bathroom however if you need and extra bottle or two our housekeeping team will be able to assist you. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our variety on the breakfast buffet and yes you are spot on, on weekend Punchinello's can be busy around 8-9 in the morning. This has allowed us to inform our guests to try and be in a bit earlier for breakfast to avoid the rush hour. Thank you for such positive feedback it will be shared with the entire team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards
Afrika Nkosi
Rooms Divisions Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 994
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Relax poolside after a long day!
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 462
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge 8
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 305
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool & garden area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 989
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Lol.travel
2.0 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 597
R 1 569
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.0 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 830
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Lol.travel
2.2 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 744
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 124
7.2 km from Pivot Hotel Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fourways
Reviews (1 260)
Filter reviews
1 260 results
Traveller rating
736
386
91
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
736
386
91
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southern sun monte casino golf cart south africa top class montecasino business johannesburg leisure conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 260 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2023 via mobile

Stayed one night. Room was clean and in good condition. Service was of an excellent standard across all teams. Breakfast could have had more variety. Hotel provides transfers to other parts of the Montecasino complex including theatre and restaurant area.

Room tip: Parking is free for guests. Many restaurants to eat at within complex. Avoid rush hour dinner time at restaurants, before show starting time
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CDMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pivot Hotel, Owner at Pivot Hotel Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Good day CDMobile,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review and to rate your stay at Pivot Hotel in Monte-casino, Johannesburg. It is a pleasure to read such positive feedback, we really appreciate your detailed review and the fact that the service was excellent and you enjoyed the breakfast offering. We will share your feedback with the teams and we looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Regards
Afrika Nkosi
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2023

Thank you Pivot Hotel. We stayed in the superior room.
Comfortable room.
Everything we needed.
Breakfast good.
Staff very friendly.
Front of the office outstanding.
Hotel chauffeur very helpful and friendly.
Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marguerette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pivot Hotel, Owner at Pivot Hotel Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Good day MargueretteJ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to rate your recent stay at Pivot Hotel in Monte-casino, Johannesburg. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us and that our team has managed to meet and exceed your expectations with their service offerings. We will pass your comments to all out team member and we are looking forward to welcoming back soon.
Regards
Afrika Nkosi
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2023

The hotel is safe. Staff are friendly and nice. The room size is good. The breakfast is good. The hotel's restaurant offers good Italian food.

The hotel entrance is mostly hard to be identified by Uber drivers. The furniture and look & feel of the hotel is a little outdated. The rooms is being cleaned on daily basis but they need to pay attention to the corners and electricity sockets cleaning.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EnGiNeErA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2023

I've stayed at the Pivot (Southern Sun as it was previously called) quite regularly since 2012. The Hotel was always recommended by business colleagues and customers, also quite popular with international sport teams. I travel for business.

So the bad first:

The Wi-Fi is absolutely atrocious, it's gone through a variety of iterations over the years but this has to be the worst performing hotel Wi-Fi i have experienced (in a city) for a very long time. It was pretty bad in November 2022 and we were told they were replacing the Wi-Fi and it wasn't finished and now March 2023 (I assume the people ran off), barely usable, which for business travel is a major problem and something the hotel should address.

AirConditioning - It is pretty ancient, noisy and struggles in the heat.

Restaurant Hours - Offers no flexibility and is possibly why it is quite lightly used, menu's have reduced, options reduced. There is the main Montecasino Complex within 5 mins walk which has lots of options.

Room Amenities - There used to be water / can of fix in the fridge. Now just one water, I am pleased the cookies have still survived (albeit a lot smaller). The shower still leaks across the entire bathroom and the sinks have never looked that hygienic even from 2012 (square manually assembled).

The Better:

The rooms are clean and well maintained, very functional, the shower works but the pressure seems to have been reduced over the last couple of years and the shower heads need replacing / cleaning better.

The Good:

The beds are very comfortable, the pillows also good quality and the black out curtains ensure an undisturbed evening. The rooms do not pick up much external noise, so you are not disturbed by your neighbours or people in the corridors.

The bar is good and service from the staff is generally very good, normally requests are dealt with very efficiently and the occasional time I have had to address an issue, was also dealt with quickly.

The outside Pool is also lovely (cold) but weather permitting is a nice place, as well as the Pool Decking.

Great location, lots of secure parking and generally a very safe location.

Room tip: Ask for a higher room, some have small balconies
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OneWayorReturnPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Puroshini Naidoo, General Manager at Pivot Hotel Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2023

Dear OneWayorReturnPlease

Trust you are well.

Thank you for taking the time to send us your details feedback and review of the Pivot Hotel.
We appreciate all the positive feedback and I will share with the team.

With regards to your concerns raised, we are aware of the issues with the Wi-Fi which was meant to be resolved last year but has not at this time. IT department have worked on improving the offering. The air-conditioning servicing is an ongoing function in the hotel and with the load shedding it has put unnecessary pressure on all our mechanical systems.
The cookies in the rooms have been upgrade to a large and better offer but the beverage offered is only water in the room. We no longer offer the soft drink complimentary.

We trust that you will return in the future and know that we are working on improving the hotel constantly.

Kind Regards,
Puroshini Naidoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2023 via mobile

The hotel and staff were very good. Special mention to Sekgai, he was able to drive me in the golf cart to the open restaurants. Breakfast ends at 10am and the restaurant closes until lunchtime. Very inconvenient for visitors who prefer to not leave the hotel for food.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank missvundla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Puroshini Naidoo, General Manager at Pivot Hotel Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2023

Dear missvundla

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pivot Hotel Montecasino, we value your patronage. Your opinion as our Guest is very important and we do appreciate your effort to provide us with feedback.

The restaurant closes from breakfast to lunch in order for the restaurant to be cleaned and reset for lunch service. We do offer lunch service from our beautiful deck or the lounge bar. We apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Puroshini Naidoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews