We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place for a family celebration”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coffee and recipes Lovely features and details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Coffee and recipes
Lovely features and details
Living space with TV and L-shaped sofa
Cosy country chic bedroom
Chilled long weekends
Super King bed - HUGE!
Details
Bedroom - sit and look out at the sunsets (faces west)
Details
Cosy
Bathroom style
Bathroom
Kitchen style
Cosy sofa. Snuggle down.
Relax and read
Kitchen style
Antique finds
Calm
Kitchen
Kitchen fully kitted out with dishwasher too
The lawn
Dyrham Park - our neighbour just a few steps from our front door
Dyrham Park west lawn and church - 1min from our house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dyrham, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roy and S...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a family celebration”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The house is full of character and we loved the peaceful setting - indeed, its location is absolutely delightful, just a few minutes from the National Trust's Dyrham Park.
We had planned to accommodate 8 overnight (which the house will do, comfortably, with ease). In fact, there were nearly 30 of us for a most successful family buffet lunch at the heart of our weekend stay and there was never a feeling of a crowd.
The sun shone, the croquet lawn won, but more to the point the house embraced us all with warmth; there is a generosity about the place - we all loved its slightly faded yet durable ambience.
Owners Lucy and Jack are readily available at the end of their phones; we found them very helpful. A house of this kind needs a great deal of upkeep and - to an extent - the owners depend upon their tenants having empathy for the property. Not simply caring for it while staying there, which is a given, but also participating in reporting defects and shortcomings as they arise. We had a few technical issues with some of the facilities, which we shared with the owners, but nothing stopped us totally enjoying the weekend.
We would certainly recommend the place and we would stay there again.
We had the sense that the owners are committed to providing a premium product - it is certainly marketed at the high end - and that they will strive to maintain the standards of maintenance accordingly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space, empathy
Liked least: Snags with some equipment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buttercup...
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful stay!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We rented this property over this bank holiday weekend with our family of 5 and my sister in layaway, her husband, my niece and my mother in law- we were completely in awe of the place as soon as we arrived - it is magnificent! The photos do not do it justice it was gorgeous- the grounds are wonderful - a real adventure to explore all the little paths and plenty of lawn areas for the children to run around! The house itself was so spacious and the furnishings were perfect - (I actually would love to go shopping with the owners as their taste is fantastic!)
The cinema room is very cool- the kids loved it ! Lovely old fashioned cinema seats and a huge screen and surround sound made it a great viewing experience for the children - my favourite place, though, would have to be the dining room - what a grad spacious room with the huge table! Love it! Then we move onto the bedrooms which were so perfect and spacious - ample room for travel cots and plenty of bathrooms so there were no arguments in the mornings! It was lovely to go somewhere as such a large group but still have plenty of your own space!
We loved the decor and the little touches, the owners left us a little box of goodies which was really appreciated!
We ordered a grocery delivery which found the property no problems and it's only a stones throw away from bath so we felt the location was perfect - such a lovely contrast to be close to the city but have the tranquility and peace!
Thanks for a wonderful stay- we will be coming back !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“beautiful house , perfect location for Bath Hen Do”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The house is in a beautiful, peaceful location and we loved the vintage/shabby chic style, perfect for my sister's hen do. Large dinning table was perfect and used frequently and very good kitchen facilities. Just a 20 min drive to Bath city centre was also pwrfect. A taxi to seat 6 people was £30 approx one way. This home would be fantastic in the summer with eve well kept gardens. We made use of the vintage cinema room and cosy log fire.

On arrival there was a slight hic cup with heating & towels which was being resolved as we arrived, however Lucy & Jake dealt with this promptly and apologeticly. We did have a heating engineer turn up at 830am saturday morning when we were all showering and coming out and downstairs for a cuppa in towels etc when we were advised he would arrive for 11am !

The 9th bed is a fold out bed, a size 6 petite guest slept on this Friday night and the slats constantly fell out beneath her which disturbed a lot of sleep, the second night I ended up sleeping on the matreess on the floor as the bed wasn't fit for purpose , dissapointing when you've paid £1000 for 2 nights. We would only reccomend 8 guests staying here. All other beds were extremely comfortable with good bedding.

A few things we found were broken in the house but this didn't impact our stay we are guessing more active hen groups have stayed and caused this which is a huge shame as overall the house is stunning and beautifully presented.

We stayed about 2 weeks ago and holiday lettings are still proccessing our damage deposit although they confirmed today it is being returned so be warned this can take a while.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cinema room & lovley solid wood large dinning table
Liked least: 9th bed wasnt fit for purpose so ended up sleeping on floor, sofas not very comfy with hole in letting out feathers with movement
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thanks Alison. Sorry the 9th bed wasn't perfect. We'll address that for certain.
The return of a deposit is out of our hands as its not at all handled by us - its handled by HolidayLettings and we have no say over the timeline for it being returned to you! Thanks for the great review x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRK7
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Can't thank Lucy enough for letting us stay in her beautiful home for a special family celebration.

Not only is the setting of the house some of the most stunning countryside, right next to Dyrham park which is great for walks, the house its self has been stylishly decorated and furnished. All possible requirements have been catered for - and some you might not have thought of! Popcorn machine and pizza oven were lovely touches. It felt homely and welcoming but had a sophisticated edge that we really loved.

Roaring fires and family meals around the table made for a wonderful weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlantic
nomad avenue
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceeds All Expectations!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Its rare that you get stay in a house that actually looks even better in real life than the pictures but this is one such occasion. My wife had family coming to stay from South Korea so this was a tough time for me (the language barrier can be frustrating). We were also blighted with very rainy weather for the duration; however 'Dray House' truly saved the day....

The interiors of Dray House are immaculate and elegant - erring on the modern side of rustic with gorgeous fittings and charming touches alongside calm colours and wonderful linens; all this is surrounded on all sides by thick fauna and trees - it is quite a magical spot.

The living room has a fantastic log fire and we were provided with a starter kit to get things going. The log fire was a huge hit with everyone due to the weather and immediately makes you feel at home. The older koreans loved the entertainment room and watched a few films there in the evening - despite not understanding a word of engllsh! There's plenty of room there amongst the vintage cinema-style seats. Next time we will definitely bring some cocktail mixers and use the bar.

Our group meandered into Dyrham park literally right next door. It's a beautiful spot with roaming deer and a great place to wander amongst family. This family are food fanatics and so the huge dining table was perfect for them - there was plenty of space in the kitchen too - which i must add was perfect in every way. Every appliance is top notch and we made quick work of the bottle of wine kindly left to us by the owners. The beds/bathrooms were again top notch making this a very relaxing stay for all - in fact i don't think the koreans had ever been somewhere quite so chilled out!

Dray house - a charming rustic idyll hidden in the bath countryside! Now that I've gotten round to writing this review i'm about to get in touch to see about staying there again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$133
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing