We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Get-Away Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The inviting living room at the Painter's Nook
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The inviting living room at the Painter's Nook
Entrance to the Painter's Nook Inviting kitchen with original tile work
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The inviting living room at the Painter's Nook
Entrance to the Painter's Nook
Inviting kitchen with original tile work
Eating area off the kitchen is filled with sunlight during the day
A lovely gas fireplace to cozy up in front of in the evenings
the nook
Master bedroom opens out to it's own little deck
entrance hall
Bedroom 2 with antique double bed
Bathroom beside bedroom two and three
under the tree
Fanciful Dog House & Run 'The Poochie's Nook' :-)
View of backyard
Parking on property
Painting found on orginal garage doors, now framed in the driveway.
Play set
Side garden is growing quickly! June 1 2015
Backyard picnic area and children's swing set
Creating a berry & veggie garden
Glorius day
Water Sports rentals at the beach
Canada Day at Parksville's Community Beach 2014
Parksville Community Beach
Walk to the Parksville Community beach from the Painter's Nook.
Walk to the Englishman River from the Painter's Nook
Sunset on the Englishman River estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Parksville, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brandon T
2 reviews
“Perfect Family Get-Away Cottage”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family of 4 had a wonderful stay at The Painters Nook! The cottage was spotlessly clean, with a warm and inviting decor and a perfect layout. It is well equipped with all the necessities for a family, and it was a much appreciated home base for our nearly 2 week stay in Parksville. Our children especially enjoyed the garden; fruit trees; swings; and the wild rabbits that visit the neighborhood. We enjoyed BBQ's in the lovely backyard, and the master bedroom sun deck in the equally lovely front yard. The cottage is also conveniently located, with many attractions and local amenities only a short drive away. Parksville beach (and park) is only a 10 minute walk from the cottage! We will definitely be back - a great place to stay in Parksville!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marise B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great time at Painter's Nook”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spend more than a week with our family of 4 in Painter's Nook and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The house was in excellent condition, clean and fully equipped. Doing the dishes ourselves brought quality time for the family. The nearby shops provided very high quality food, meat and shellfish. We did hiking in close by parks but also had day trips to Victoria and Tofino. The rest days around the house were perfect too as there was enough space for both teenagers to do their thing. Definitely positive experience and recommendable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Happy your stay was great! Loved having you all and hope you come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
531jennie...
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Perfect home away from home”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We absolutely loved this beautifully maintained home away from home! The location was amazing, tucked away on a quiet street but walking distance to the beach, community playground, and downtown Parksville. My kids loved the play structure out back, and running around the yard, as well as playing with the toys, games, and art supplies. It had a very cottage-y feel, and 6 of us stayed comfortably for 4 days. There were all the amenities you would need and even lovely extras you wouldn't expect, like fresh bread and milk, sand toys for the beach, and bicycles. The owners have made this vacation property so homey and comfortable for people of all ages, and I loved reading about the history of the house, and seeing all of the original artwork. It's a great place for families and pets are welcome too! I really can't recommend this place enough - we look forward to coming back next year!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thanks for staying with Best Holiday Stays! Happy you all had a good time and hope you come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dixiecorb
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Parksville Vacation Home”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed 5 nights at the Painter's Nook in Parksville last April. This home is enchanting, with glorious light in the kitchen and living room. The bedrooms are wonderful, the deck is welcoming and the yard is charming (hard to believe a Petrocan station is on the other side. You can easily walk to the Englishman River Estuary, where I spotted a Barred Owl in the beautiful forest. Great driftwood logs have washed up in winter storms along the river estuary, and it's an easy walk to Rathtrevor Park nearby.
Some days, it was hard to leave the house (oh, and a Starbucks is a 5-minute walk away). We were two artists and happily sat at the kitchen table, drawing in our sketchbooks. The best part of the house is the care taken to weave in the art work from the previous owners (an artist and gallery owner) that showcase the interesting art from 1940s-1970s Vancouver and New Westminster. Not only art - they have preserved the interesting kitchen utensils, china ornaments, etc from the 60s and 70s. Despite the informal gallery, this house has modern updating in both bathrooms and a new washer/dryer. Perfect for families, if you can ever get a reservation in high season. A dog run! A vegetable garden (in season; we were not). I have never rented a home that is so well equipped - a steel to sharpen the knives, for example! It was like a house-sitting experience, overall. TV has a zillion channels plus Netflix. Lighting the gas fire was beyond me and the master bedroom mattress was a tiny bit soft. Otherwise, a totally fantastic experience!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Always a joy to have guests love the "Nook" as much as we do! Come again soon! You were great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irricana, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique artwork and general decor
Liked least: Older beds
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
We are always really happy to receive reveiws that tell us our hard work 'creating' the Painter's Nook is appreciated! Many thanks and we look forward to a return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing