We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect beach holiday, amazing beach vistas...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Our Tanglewood retreat is a home away from home
Enjoy the tranquil vistas from your living room
You are welcomed with breathtaking views of expansive space...ocean and mountain
Who thought that one can take such a great picture through the front window
Within steps to Rathtrevor Park
The top deck offers exhilarating views while relaxing, reading and eating
Shade yourself from the heat of the sun
Oceanfront dining every night....
Turn around and you see this expansive vista!  Doing dishes can be relaxing
Well appointed kitchen with the comforts of home
Enjoy the spacious and cozy main bedroom
Catch the setting sun in the evening
Second bedroom is a quiet retreat
Arriving
Tanglewood
First glimpses of the water
Lawn out front to enjoy some relaxing moments
Play, relax, replenish yourself
Enjoy sounds of lapping waters on the shore in the evening
Full ensuite to main bedroom
Main full bath
See the sunrise from the decks
View from the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Parksville, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Taylorhal...
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect beach holiday, amazing beach vistas from living room and decks!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 8 nights and had wonderful vacation. Our group of five was made up of 3 adults and 2 young children. The unit is on the upper floor of a fourplex and is directly on the beach with just a lip of lawn separating you from the sand and ocean. We spent hours beach-combing, watching the tides ebb and flow, and enjoying the beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Sandy feet can be a challenge, but just fill the foot bath and leave with a towel at the bottom of the stairs as instructed and it's manageable - after all, you are on the beach!! Another tip - bring your lunch down to the beach or spread a blanket on the lawn and have a picnic! Lots to do in the area too - Tiger Lily Farm, Coombs, Paradise Park, Englishman River Park..... We built some great memories, thank you Donna for sharing your home with us, we hope to be back again soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view - This unit is directly on the beach
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstyinC...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best view of the best beach.”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is our fourth year in a row staying at Rathtrevor Beach with our family. It's just the most amazing location for young families. Every year we find new adventures with the kids and rediscover old favourites.

#3 Tanglewood is in the perfect location to enjoy the stunning beauty of Rathtrevor Beach. We would literally walk down the stairs in our bathing suits and not even take a towel or shoes. Your only steps away from the water.

The unit itself is clean and has mostly erything you would need to be your home away from home. My only complaints would be the oven was broken for our stay and was being replaced after we left. This made it difficult to cook some of my 2 and 6 year olds favourite staples and being so young they have a very limited diet. The kitchen utensils and pots and pans etc were sufficient but in need of an upgrade in some cases. We didn't find a toaster and found that odd.

Overall though out of the 4 places we have stayed in the Tanglewood complex this one was by far the best view and location. There was ample beds and it was clean and comfortable and family friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review Kirsty. We do not have the traditional pop up toaster but there is a combination toaster oven. We will continue to replace and upgrade condo amenities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petemct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome location!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a wonderful week in this unit!
It's truly waterfront with beautiful views of the ocean and beach.
We would love to return and rent this condo again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“What was the greatest about Tanglewood? Trick question, EVERYTHING.”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Tanglewood #3 is a wonderful place to stay for a vacation with friends. There were six of us, and nobody died. But most importantly the space is large and not cramped at all. One of the greatest things about this location was having the beach as our back yard. [YEEEH] Being able to have access to the beach 24/7 was definitely a plus. Whether it was watching the sunrise, going for a stroll along the beach, making sand castles, or just gazing over the ocean from the balcony, the beach was always there for us.[like a good friend who will answer your calls at 2am in the morning]
The interior of the house was clean and comfortable. The interior decoration was quite aesthetically pleasing. The house also has built in surround sound which is perfect for watching movies on the hdmi compatible TV in the living room area. Though this might be irrelevant for some people, we found the wifi quite good as well. There were six of us using it at once on 5 phones, 2 ipads, and 2 laptops and it still held up.
Though we were unable to see stars due to the clouds, we saw the potential in the upper balcony to be a wonderful stargazing location. Did i mention there are two decks? THERE ARE TWO DECKS, and one of them has a easy to operate barbecue on it whilst the upper deck has a table with a parasol and chairs so eating outside on the upper deck is not only viable, but encouraged so you can soak in the view and enjoy time with the people you care about at the same time. [PRO TIP: you have to force the handle past the resistance to open the door to the upper deck]
One of the few flaws this location has, is that it's perfect and we have to leave. But seriously the sound of the ice maker in the refrigerator is the SPOOKIEST THING in the middle of the night.
The location of the resort itself is also one of the great things that Tanglewood has to offer. Minigolf is a walking distance away. As previously stated, the beach is right there. It is quite close to many sight seeing locations such as Coombs, Englishmen River Falls, Nanaimo and Cathedral Grove. Unfortunlately we were unable to go to hornlake caves this year due to our unpreparedness for the equipment required. But if that is something you are interested in checking out, remember to pack proper shoes and jackets.

Long story short: This is place is great. 10/10 would stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and beach front access.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C
1 review
“Blissful relaxation”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Since year 2000, we've stayed at this lovely home many times and have been extremely impressed on each visit by the spectacular setting, the well-appointed condominium and the close proximity to numerous interesting activities. The condo is just a few minutes drive away from the mini-golf course, wonderful hiking trails and neighbouring spas. We enjoyed a variety of activities for all different age groups - cycling around Nanoose Bay, beach combing and skim-boarding at Rathtrevor, wading through the refreshingly clear water at Englishman River Falls and Little Qualicum Falls, enjoying heaping ice cream cones at Coomb's Country Market, and hiking up Nob Hill for glorious views. The condo was also recently refreshed with new paint and furniture. It was another memorable vacation and we can hardly wait until our next stay!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing