We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
54
72
33
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
72
33
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street full kitchen main level view of the ocean living room cedar wood clean property old fashion pots and pans tables and chairs san juans walking distance to town double bed front office staff saturna island loved this hotel coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We loved this place. It's an older style of "motor inn" but lovely. Across the street from the ocean as well as a small park. The "downtown" area has shops ranging from small and inexpensive to very expensive. The rooms have pine paneling and look exactly like they do in the photos on the hotel website. There is a full kitchen, a separate bedroom and laundry facilities on site. They were fine with us having our big dog. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy. The staff is very friendly and helpful with suggesting various places to eat.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I was very pleased when I came across this Inn. The pricing was very reasonable, staff very helpful and friendly (Peter) plus the easy walk across the street to the shore line. Yes it is wood construction but the guests staying here are very respectful and quite. Would I stay here again? Absolutely !

Room tip: Ask for second floor and room with a fridge.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ServicePleaseYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The Cedarwood is a 2* motel and it is quite dated and dark. The walls in our room were all cedar paneling and the bedspread and drapes reminded me of something from the 70's. It was clean and the price was reasonable and the location was great - with a bit of an ocean view. A lovely 10 or 15 minute walk to the main street of Sidney. They do have kitchenettes so I believe there were quite a few snowbirds staying there. You are on a fairly major road into Sidney but we were set quite a ways back so road noise was not an issue.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The Cedarwood is an older style Inn but that adds to its charm. Four friends stayed in the Texada suite - a two bedroom, full kitchen living room, 2 bath unit. It had pine siding on the walls and older style arborite in the bathroom. I think it was quite funky - in a good way. Kind of like a cabin. The Cedarwood is a 10 minute walk to downtown and is on the ocean foreshore walk. It was perfect for us as we were attending a workshop and needed a comfy spot to come back to for supper and a quiet evening.

Room tip: Upper floor is above parking lot so away from traffic. Cabins look cute.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank onetomatotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Sounded nice online, but really disapoointing when we got there, and were too tired to go on to Victoria. We stayed in July, so also really pricy for essentially a budget motel. The room was musty and old, ground floor front window faced the parking lot (with people walking past so kept curtains closed), bedroom window looked out to trash in the back, mactac covered tables and desk – utterly devoid of charm. Nice to have the ocean just across the street, but not really close to anything else in Sydney. There are better choices.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lar289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews