We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new steakhouse in Collingwood”
Review of Prime Seven Nine

Prime Seven Nine
Ranked #34 of 141 Restaurants in Collingwood
Description: Prime Seven Nine is the latest premium, casual dining experience for Collingwood, The Blue Mountains, and the surrounding Simcoe and Grey County area. Our menu is a reflection of our own personal lives, which revolve around the dinner table and kitchen… our passion for food! Our philosophy for cooking is to maintain the simplicity of food, with emphasis on the detail of creating a great dish through the utilization of only the best ingredients. Our well-rounded wine and drink list, coupled with our unique atmosphere & music, will further enhance your dining experience. Our décor is inspired by the Art-Deco era of this Iconic building contrasted with a new, fresh, modern look through our furnishings.
Restaurant details
Description: Prime Seven Nine is the latest premium, casual dining experience for Collingwood, The Blue Mountains, and the surrounding Simcoe and Grey County area. Our menu is a reflection of our own personal lives, which revolve around the dinner table and kitchen… our passion for food! Our philosophy for cooking is to maintain the simplicity of food, with emphasis on the detail of creating a great dish through the utilization of only the best ingredients. Our well-rounded wine and drink list, coupled with our unique atmosphere & music, will further enhance your dining experience. Our décor is inspired by the Art-Deco era of this Iconic building contrasted with a new, fresh, modern look through our furnishings.
Reviewed 20 July 2018

We really enjoyed our recent dinner at Prime 79 on Hurontario Street in Collingwood. Great food, great service and very comfortable restaurant. There is something for everyone on this menu!

They have renovated an old Bank of Montreal building with an interesting twist for the kitchen location. No spoilers here - go check it out.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pvrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018

I will admit that my expectations were fairly low when my friend and I decided to try Prime Seven Nine ... wow, we were blown away with the food, decor and the service!

So nice trying out a restaurant for the first time and having a hard time deciding on just one entree. On the recommendation of our server (so wish I took note of her name to give kudos), we both went with the salmon. Truly a unique flavour with the coconut lemongrass sauce and complimented perfectly with fresh vegetables.

You know that a restaurant truly cares about the guest when the Chef (Nicholas) personally dropped down to give us his recipe on the coconut lemongrass sauce!! Prime Seven Five is lucky to have a chef that truly loves what he does and enjoys passing his passion to the servers and to the guests.

Can’t wait to return and try one of the other dishes ... or maybe keep with something I know is perfection and stick with the salmon ;)

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank liveveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

As weekenders in Collingwood, the local restaurant scene is a big part of our experience. It’s hard to find the balance of price, quality of food, service and most importantly the feel of a local gem. These guys hit the mark on all fronts. Beautiful room, friendly and attentive service, Tony greets you when you come in and thanks you when you are done. We sat at the bar, shared a couple of apps , a baseball sirloin, and some wine by the glass.Lots of activity going on, but still easy to converse. We have had some hits and misses over the years in Collingwood, Prime Seven Nine is a full on hit. Love the place.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InfoT16, Owner at Prime Seven Nine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks John!!! We are so happy that everyone is enjoying Prime!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

The revamped interior makes the restaurant much more intimate, with carpets and textures and sound baffles on the ceiling. More experienced wait staff replace the poorly managed from the Strand, and the new chef is focused on quality and service. Add to that the leadership of the serial restauranteurs who have taken it back, and you have a winning combination. We have been twice since it opened. A fair wine list, top quality steaks and prompt service. Think of a higher end independent Keg. Hopefully, the team will add a few specials which aren’t red meat as the menu is very heavy on steak. And the only constructive criticisms from two visits was that the bernaise was too acidic, and having poker on the TVs throughout the restaurant took away from the ambiance of a great steakhouse. Overall top quality. We will be regulars here.

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank CollingwoodGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InfoT16, Owner at Prime Seven Nine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

This new restaurant has an amazing location in a historic renovated building. It has a fabulous menu particularly the small + share . We ordered four apps to share and they were delicious, interesting, innovative and reasonably prized! This kind of menu truly appeals to us and the food presentation was excellent! Truly a premium, casual dining restaurant , the decor , ambiance , excellent service and great food makes this restaurant a must for superb dining experience. The owners were also so friendly , warm, welcoming and even gave us tour of the former bank vault converted to a special group party venue! We definitely will return for an enjoyable evening!

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank Lola4ever99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prime Seven Nine also viewed

 
Collingwood, Ontario
 

Been to Prime Seven Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing