We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
59
122
110
56
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
122
110
56
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean continental breakfast staff was friendly pancakes hot tub gym ontario
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We stayed here due to a wedding where they had a shuttle going to the wedding venue from the hotel. We paid $119 and sadly, over paid! Our beds were adequate but the bathroom was like going back to 1970! Blue tub, blue toilet, blue sink....There was a musty smell throughout as well. Check in was ok, but we had to walk outside after registering to get to our room! Breakfast had the usual: bagels, cereal, scrambled eggs (great), make your own pancakes and sausage. Coffee was excellent and so was the staff in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teechBrantford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeSimcoe, General Manager at Travelodge Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you very much for all of your feedback today. We appreciate the positive comments especially about our new hot breakfast, the comfort of our beds and the customer service that you received. We do have a few more older tubs to replace but we are almost completely done the hotel. We have also started upgrading the vanities to quartz as well. Hopefully on your next visit you will see all of our upgrades completed. Thank you for sharing your experience at Travelodge Simcoe and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We stayed here in desperation really after not being able to book 2 rooms anywhere along Lake Erie shoreline. I'm used to small very basic Travelodges which are just OK. This one is a large new looking building with good sized room. That old Ontario summer musty smell was there but our friend told us in the morning she had put the AC on and said hers was fine. We were scared to use the AC after previous hotels where AC just seemed to make it smell worse.
However the beds were comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was another serve yourself with all plastic cutlery and paper plates, etc. again. Do North Americans have treacle fingers? Or is there a continent wide shortage of washing up liquid? But it was the nicest breakfast out of all the chain hotels we stayed in. There was a pancake machine where you just press a button, wait a minute and out pops a pancake. Magic!
As we were only there for a night and had been out all evening, we didn't use the all the facilities. But a friend's daughter who lives in Simcoe uses their gym all the time so it must be good.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Angela Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeSimcoe, General Manager at Travelodge Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you very much for all of the great comments and feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great sleep with us and that you enjoyed our hot buffet breakfast - especially our new pancake machine! We sincerely appreciate your vote of confidence as well as your renewed endorsement of our Travelodge Brand. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area and do make sure you take the time to check out our entire facility - we have a great indoor pool sauna, steam room, hot tub, plus our on-site Norfolk Fitness Centre is sure to surpass your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Our recent stay was satisfactory. Check in was quick and pleasant. Room was clean with all the emmenities one would require. Pool and hot tub were warm and clean. I took marks off because the air conditioning in our room had only an on and off choice and it was loud. There was a musty odour in the stairway on the way to our room. They need to hire a good window washer. Breakfast was decent but limited seating for number of guests. I'm undecided on whether would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Daniela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeSimcoe, General Manager at Travelodge Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you very much for all of your great feedback. We are certainly pleased to hear that your room was cleaned and the service you received was up to your standards. We had a very busy baseball weekend and yes the breakfast room was certainly busy. Sorry for any inconvenience. We are also in the process of replacing the last few old air conditioners/heaters with brand new units with a digital control for speed and temperature. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

need I say more ? our bed had a crater in the middle of it... we both sank into it all night.. I should have my own comedy show and rip this hotel to shreds with my skit about it. Bedding kept coming off of the corners, exposing the mattress, very very uncomfortable experience. Horrible musty odour, BAD ODOUR in both the hallways, room itself, and so called dining room ( ohh… lousy food "buffet'...but as they always say, you get what you pay for")

Will never return and will share my experience with others.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere...trust me
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeSimcoe, General Manager at Travelodge Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We usually get rave reviews about our beds and will certainly find out what is happening with the bed in your room. We are also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our new hot buffet breakfast including scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes plus all of the usual items you would find on a big continental breakfast buffet. We appreciate your candor and will use your feedback to help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Nicest pool and hot tub I have encountered in a hotel. Very nice clean rooms. Small bathrooms with very deep bath tubs. Nice area.Friendly staff whom are very helpful. Within walking distance of restaurants.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Pam-Englehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeSimcoe, General Manager at Travelodge Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you very much for all of the great ratings - especially about the cleanliness! We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at Travelodge Simcoe and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews