We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect romantic escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farrowings

Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings
Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Kitchen with everything you need for your stay.
Sitting room looking into the open-plan kitchen.
Dining area
Kitchen with granite worktops.
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with rugs and flagstone floor.
Bedroom with king-size bed, antique sofa and plenty of storage space.
Antique pine cupboard with plenty of shelves for clothes!
Tennis court
View towards village
Patio area
Monastic barn
Outside The Old Farrowings cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CJamesGra...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect romantic escape”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We don't get chance to go away together very often, so my partner and I are very particular with our choice when we do. I am pleased to say that The Old Farrowings did not in the slightest disappoint. It is beautifully situated and sitting outside the front of the property you cannot help but admire the surroundings and listen to nature - indeed there is no sight or sound of man, just animals and wind in the trees.
The property itself is well equipped and though we were only there for three nights, we could have easily stayed longer without a problem. The wood-burner is a great addition to a cosy living space, and the kitchen more than adequate for our needs. The bathroom is lovely and the bedroom is big, airy, and perfect for a couple's retreat.
The owners are equally lovely, communicative, and very helpful.
If I had one complaint, it would be that all of the above conspired to make our stay fly by, and before we knew it we were faced with sadly having to depart for a life less colourful, in surroundings less romantic. Still, there's always a return visit...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Old Farrowings and I'm so pleased you had a good weekend. Please do come back and see us again!
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fare thee well in the Farrowings”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We spent a long time researching a location for a mid-week break in Derbyshire and eventually settled on The Old Farrowings. We were not disappointed. We like to walk and literally from the door we could walk into Biggin Dale which gave us access to Wolfscote Dale, Milldale and Dovedale. The village pub was a short walk over the fields and we bought provisions in the delighful village of Hartington which is a few minutes drive away.
The standard of accommodation is excellent and although there are 2 other holiday properties at Biggin Grange they are discreetly arranged and very private.
Jane is a wonderful host and we have no hesitiation in recommending The Old Farrowings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thanks for your lovely review and so pleased you had an enjoyable stay at The Old Farrowings. Glad you discovered our local and we are very lucky to have such good little shops in Hartington. Do come back and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon R
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Charming, beautiful lodging in the Peak District.”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Farrowings. Despite some unseasonably cool weather, we were warm and cozy inside the Old Farrowings. The bedroom was wonderful, and the view of of the green hills from the couch by the fireplace cannot be beat. The owner was very nice and welcoming, and also very respectful of our privacy. We would definitely recommend The Old Farrowings!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased you were nice and cosy despite the very cold weather. Quite a change from Arizona!
It was nice to meet you both and thank you for choosing to come and holiday at Biggin Grange.
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starrywil...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Peak District Retreat”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in the Old Farrowings for a couple of nights and everything there was perfect!

the cottage is surrounded by amazing views and Jane was very helpful (even providing brownies!)

Would highly recommend and hope to come back again soon.

Ben

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for the review and glad the brownies went down well! Pleased you had an enjoyable break at The Old Farrowings.
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful ”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I recently booked this for a weekend away for my girlfriends birthday, and we couldn't believe just how beautiful it was. Fields as far as the eye could see and the amazing rolling hills. The owners have thought of everything you could need, a well detailed information folder on local tourist information, as well as more details about the cottage. Freshly baked brownies on arrival was a great touch. Would definitely recommend to anyone and are looking at returning later in the year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review and so glad you had a good weekend at The Old Farrowings.
Very kind of you to recommend me and please come back when the weather is warmer!
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing