We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, stunning location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farrowings

Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings
Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Kitchen with everything you need for your stay.
Sitting room looking into the open-plan kitchen.
Dining area
Kitchen with granite worktops.
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with rugs and flagstone floor.
Bedroom with king-size bed, antique sofa and plenty of storage space.
Antique pine cupboard with plenty of shelves for clothes!
Tennis court
View towards village
Patio area
Monastic barn
Outside The Old Farrowings cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rainbowj8...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, stunning location!”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Totally enjoyed our stay here at the old farrowings. It is even better than the photos show as they cannot capture just how vast and beautiful the countryside and views are here.
Perfect break away, very relaxing and a friendly welcome! Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a luxury escape.
Best bits: the views, the huge shower, the comfy bed and thankfully the weather held out long enough for us to enjoy the country air!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
It's always nice when guests say it is better than the photographs as so often when I go away to hotels I think 'their photographer must be very clever' so I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage. Thank you very much for writing a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and so pleased you enjoyed your time at Biggin Grange.
The views from your cottage are stunning so I'm so glad you were able to enjoy them. Do come back and see us again! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
P3355APja...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Have just returned from a wonderful stay at The Old Farrowings. We were absolutely delighted with the cottage and it's beautiful location, so peaceful. We truly did not want to leave and really hope we can return next year. I would highly recommend this property and would describe it as 'simply perfect'. Thanks also to the owner Jane who was very helpful when we had a problem with the car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
So pleased you had a good time at The Old Farrowings and it was very nice to meet you both. I'm pleased you managed to get the car sorted - you don't want the cover of a sports car not working in the English summer when it is prone to rain!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 4 poster
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
It was great to see you both again and I am so pleased you and your friends all had a good weekend. Do come back and see us again when you feel like escaping from London!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TobyandKa...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good to come back”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Second trip up here now, this time with a newborn. Nice to be remembered and meet the family and nice to get back to this setting. Good combination of 'completely out of touch' and 'close enough to pick up the bits you forgot from sainsburys' and the grounds to the estate were looking manicured again. Cottage itself was lovely, nice looking entrance, lounge type bit and kitchen and an epic bedroom with enough room to swing a really massive cat. Good to see the ducks didn't make the Sunday roast menu as well while we were gone and we're still happily being weird.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
We loved having you back and meeting little Roscoe who managed to sleep for hours so hopefully you both managed to relax as it's not always easy with a 7-week old baby! The Indian Runner ducks continue to amuse both us and our guests and I promise they won't be going very far in the future so they will still be here when hopefully you come back! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing