We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, cosy and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage The original gritstone cheese press
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage
The original gritstone cheese press
Sitting Room
Wood-burning stove
Kitchen area
Fully equipped kitchen with granite worktops
Dining area
Pine table in the Sitting Room
Set for dinner
Bedroom
Antique double bed
Bathroom with basin, loo, bath & shower
Enjoy the spectacular views over the fields
Patio
Views overlooking Biggin Dale from the cottage
Another view from Cheese Press Cottage
Enjoy watching the cows grazing in the fields from the cottage
Park your car next to the cottage
All-weather tennis court
Monastic Barn which dates back from the 13th Century is where the property began
Cheese Press Cottage
Cheese Press Cottage is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maddyhaha
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil, cosy and relaxing”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is wonderful. We spent a very relaxing couple of days there with our little baby. It was so cosy and comfortable and had excellent facilities. We received a warm welcome from Jane but were otherwise left to do our own thing which was perfect. The kitchen and bathroom are well appointed. There is also a bbq for use and washing facilities, which is excellent when travelling with a baby! The patio over looking the beautiful surroundings is a fabulous place to enjoy dinner and a glass of wine. You need not use your car as the walking which is accessible from the cottage is amazing. We will definitely stay and would highly recommend it to others

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you had a nice couple of days in Derbyshire and we all fell in love with little Stanley! Please come back and see us again soon. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad you had a good time in Derbyshire. My husband will be thrilled you have said the farm is immaculate! Though it is probably more the tenant farmer who deserves all the credit. Hope you manage to return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemma G
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing weekend.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at cheese press cottage for two nights last weekend with my fiancé and honestly do not have a bad word to say about it.

We arrived around 5:30pm (a little later than the 3pm check in time) and received a very warm welcome from Jane. We were shown around the cottage and left to take in the surroundings and relax, and what beautiful surroundings they are. Having come from a busy noisy job and living in a built up area the quiet was so noticible from the moment we arrived. It was just us and the sheep! Also the views are spectacular. Cheese press cottage has a private patio area that overlooks the most beautiful rolling countryside (with beautiful sunsets as the evenings went on)

The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need. The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, pans, crockery etc and is spotlessly clean (the nespresso machine has made me look into buying one!). The same goes for the bathroom, plenty of hot water, a great powerful shower that is very easy to use and luxurious fluffy white towels.

There is a television with freeview and a DVD player in the living area which is very comfortable and relaxing. We felt so at home there from the moment we arrived.

We had an excellent nights sleep in the comfy bed with goose down duvet and felt completely refreshed by the time we left.

Whether you choose to stay around the cottage and enjoy the owners working farm or go out and explore the nearby towns of Buxton, Bakewell or Matlock or the plentiful walks (maps are also available in the cottage) this is an ideal location for a relaxing weekend to get away from the stresses of everyday life. I have already recommended it to several friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
I'm so pleased that you had a nice weekend. Thank you so much for your kind words and please come back and see us when you want to get away from the City. You can definitely relax and unwind looking at the views. I have just returned from a couple of nights in a built-up area and it was so nice to get back to Derbyshire and enjoy the space and open views. Thanks again. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Many thanks for the kind review. Really pleased you had a nice time at the Cottage. We are very lucky having the private footpath down to the Dale and glad you were able to make use of it. Thanks again. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
Thanks so much for writing such a nice review. I am really pleased you had a nice few days and you managed to feel relaxed by the time you returned to Manchester. Do come and see us again when you need a country fix! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$116
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing