We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful peaceful place with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage The original gritstone cheese press
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage
The original gritstone cheese press
Sitting Room
Wood-burning stove
Kitchen area
Fully equipped kitchen with granite worktops
Dining area
Pine table in the Sitting Room
Set for dinner
Bedroom
Antique double bed
Bathroom with basin, loo, bath & shower
Enjoy the spectacular views over the fields
Patio
Views overlooking Biggin Dale from the cottage
Another view from Cheese Press Cottage
Enjoy watching the cows grazing in the fields from the cottage
Park your car next to the cottage
All-weather tennis court
Monastic Barn which dates back from the 13th Century is where the property began
Cheese Press Cottage
Cheese Press Cottage is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
exitmusic...
Beijing, China
1 review
“wonderful peaceful place with stunning views”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Me and my partner stayed in the cheese press cottage for 2 nights and we absolutley loved it. The cottage was very cosy and nicely decorated and was equipped with everything you could need, including wi-fi. The views were stunning and the surrounding area was beautiful and very peaceful. It made such a nice change from living in a city. I only regret not staying longer. I would recomend a walk to the nearby town of Hartington where there are various walking routes you can go on. My only word of warning is if you plan to take a walk to one of the pubs in the area for a meal they are a fair distance away so you should check the opening times, as most are not open on a Monday and some are closed between post lunch and dinner (sadly we found this out the hard way) overall we will definitely be visiting this cottage again and I really recomend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views and surrounding area
Liked least: pubs closed on the day we stayed and the nearest shop was a 25 minute drive
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Thanks very much for the review and I am glad you had a good time. You will have to come back for longer next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sazzy1972
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I picked this cottage because it looked nice and cosy with a real fire (plus it had wifi and was within walking distance of a pub) and it didn't disapppoint. It had a lovely, warm feel and the views out over Biggin Dale were wonderful (with cute lambs in the field when we were there in March).

We found the location good too in terms of exploring the Peak District as you're right in the national park and Biggin's not far from a main road (but far enough for it to be quiet). The nearest grocery shops were in Hartington which was only a 5 minute drive, while Biggin itself had two good (and different) places to eat - the pub which did standard pub fare and the hotel which provided a more refined dining experience if that's your sort of thing.

The owner lives in the big house on the same site so was around if help was required (like tips on starting the fire!), but the cottage itself is very private with it's own parking space next to it.

All in all I'd definitely recommend and would happily go back again for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2014
I'm really pleased you had a nice few days in Derbyshire and thank you for the nice review. Hope to see you both back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cosy”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We have just returned from staying at this lovely cottage for a weekend. This place was cosy , comfortable and had everything we needed. The location was fabulous and breathtaking. The fire provided warmth and a lovely atmosphere, the kitchen was clean and well equipped and the bedroom was comfortable and fresh.
The cottage is located about a 30 minute drive from Buxton which is where you can find lots of lovely places to eat.
My only complaint, and it is a small one, is that the shower did not have very good water pressure. This made washing a bit difficult, especially when you have lots of hair to clean.

I would come back here without hesitation !!!

Beautiful x

Laura H

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fire and location
Liked least: shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2014
Thanks very much for your review. Thanks for the comment about the shower and it is definitely on my list and I will now contact my plumber to discuss. I am always keen to keep on top of things so hopefully when you return there will be a new shower!
Thanks.
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Dec 2013
Thanks very much for the review. We have jus upgraded the WiFi connection so good news to hear it is all working well! Nice to be able to enjoy the views but still check the emails as well! Hope to see you both back again in the future. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed and heating within the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your weekend to Derbyshire. Thank you very much for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$116
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing