We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 219)
Filter reviews
1 219 results
Traveller rating
459
394
203
82
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
394
203
82
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar coffee machine compact room car park small bottle of wine four poster city centre fresh milk lovely little hotel poster bed pub next door minute walk iron and ironing board dressing gowns free parking would stay again street parking
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1 219 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting York. Samantha on reception was lovely, she is very professional, polite and very knowledgable of what to see and do. Elaine gave us directions to the room which was very clean and ample for the visit. The breakfast was excellent and Sophie who was waiting on was very efficient and polite. This hotel is lovely, but it’s the staff that made it such a pleasant experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brian1112222015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Reception Supervisor at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Brian1112222015,

Thank you for your very lovely comments about the staff you interacted with during your stay. I will be sure to pass these on to the staff on duty whilst you stayed with us.

We locally source the food which we use to cook our breakfasts to provide the best possible quality, so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed it so much!

Be sure to join our FRIENDS OF NOIR to receive 10% off your next stay with us, plus discount your food and drink when you dine with us, for any further details please don’t hesitate in contacting us directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Noir in the future.
Kind regards
Reception, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We were offered an upgrade to a four poster room at a cost of £17.50 which we took. Lovely bath-liquid soap attached to wall so couldn’t reach from bath! Asked receptionist twice for tea and coffee bags, never arrived. Restaurant closed due to illness. Very disappointed

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank g_guyers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Reception, Supervisor at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

G_Guyers1
Thank you for your comments we appreciate all feedback from our guests good and bad this helps us to improve the service we offer. I apologise for coffee and tea not being replenished during your stay. I will look into this matter and speak with the receptionist on duty, we pride ourselves on excellent customer service at the hotel for all of our guests and I can assure you this is not our usual level of service.

Unfortunately, looking back at the dates you stayed with us, it does seem our restaurant was closed due to illness, but as stated on our website and through all third-party bookers our restaurant is due to availability and isn’t guaranteed to be available all the time, however I am sure you will understand as you stated this was due to staff illness, we did not take the decision lightly to close our restaurant but sometimes this cannot be helped.

Thank you again for your review, this enables us to grow and improve as a business and provide the best possible stay for our guests.

Kind regards

Reception, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

A truly gorgeous little hotel, with really friendly staff, 20-25 minute walking distance from central York.

We stayed in this hotel during the weekend that has just passed, and it was a very pleasant stay. The room was beautiful. and very clean, and included a large ensuite bathroom with nice quality towels.

The only thing that I could fault on is, our beautiful, comfortable bed was quite "squeeky", which if you're about to make butter with your tail, it could be problematic. So unfortunately the Paphian Jig had to be postponed as we didn't want to cause nuisance to anyone, and try and fall asleep in what was a very quiet hotel! A few turns of a screw driver will make this hotel perfect.

Kudos to you Noir Hotel, excellent stuff! Your receptionists and breakfast/kitchen manager were excellent!

5/5.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 410arasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Reception at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Arash A
Many thanks for taking the time out to send in a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay putting aside the ‘squeaky bed’

Should you wish to come back to us soon please call us direct for us to offer you one of our superior rooms on the higher floors of the hotel.

I have passed on your comments to the relevant staff you mentioned, we always like to hear from a happy guest!

Look forward to welcoming you back to York & the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Reception, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Impressed with this little hotel. 10-15 minute walk into the centre which is a fairly pleasant walk.
Staff very friendly and willing to help when needed.
Breakast we purchased with the room was excellent good choice for healthy options.
Complimentary mini bar in the room with drinks which were filled each day.
Room decent size for what we needed (deluxe). The bed was unbelievably comfy and bathroom lovely and clean.
Free parking at the back which is first come first served and did not have an issue parking although the area was tight.
Wi-Fi signal was great also.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Recpetion at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Rebecca,
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review about your recent stay here at Hotel Noir, we always appreciate feedback from our guests!
I will be sure to pass on all your lovely comments about your stay to the rest of the team.
Be sure to join our FRIENDS OF NOIR scheme to receive 10% off your stay when booking directly with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to York in the future should you decide to come and stay with us again.

Kind regards
Reception, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Stayed for two nights. Small, but free, parking in the back yard. The room, which was up two narrow stairs, was small - but had a large bathroom with a good shower. As it was hot this summer, we had to open the windows in both bathroom and room to get fresh air and some draught to cool down the room - work very well! Cold water in glass bottles in the small fridge was also a good service.
From the hotel it was about 15 minutes walk to the city centre.
The breakfast room had a small buffet of cold food, and cooked breakfast to be ordered - and the cooked breakfast was good. But as they played very loud dance / techno / disco music in the breakfast room, it was not a pleasure to eat there - the music could have suited a nightclub, not an early morning breakfast!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SonjaDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Reception at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to send us a review about your recent stay with us, the room you have mentioned being small is our compact double. If you come to York again, please do let us know if you would prefer a larger room as we do have quite a selection of sizes to suit all our guests.

I am happy you liked the breakfast menu we offer; we pride ourselves on offering a delicious freshly cooked breakfast to order. I do, however, apologise for the music in the background as this is not our usual morning breakfast music. I will investigate further into this matter and thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Noir in the future.

Kind regards
Reception, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews