We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 409)
Filter reviews
1 410 results
Traveller rating
682
385
197
94
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
385
197
94
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden base camp fire pit granola hot tub cool place fun hotel bunk beds adirondack chairs corn hole family room ping pong boutique hotel free breakfast no air conditioning across the street heavenly village
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1 410 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Not likely to return. The theme was fun but that was about it. There were Bobbi pins all around the room from a previous guest and there was dust and hair all over the bathroom floor from the moment we arrived like it had never been swept. There was holes in the bed sheets around the feet area as well as stains on the top of the tent around our bed. Also there is no A/C which was not great.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank j01389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay.

We have shared your feedback regarding housekeeping to our head housekeeper who is mentoring the new Summer staff on how they should be cleaning the rooms. We are also looking to add AC in the future as soon as we can.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Friendly staff. Great location, easy walk (or pick up a scooter or bike) to the beach, restaurants and casinos. Breakfast was a little sparse, bring your own fruit! Our room was cute and the bed was comfy. The bar closes pretty early (10) which was just about the time we returned to our room each night, so we didn't really take advantage of that. Would have liked to have a nightcap!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our cute property located right in the action of Tahoe. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Location great. Parking inconvenient. Hallway smelled like urine. We won’t be staying again. Had to request that our room be cleaned twice. Having a dirty red ice bucket not good. Think this place is geared for a much younger crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank komet416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay.

We have shared your feedback with our maintenance team and it seems that we had a racoon visiting the property at nigh that has now been removed. I have also shared your feedback regarding the room with our housekeeping team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Basecamp South was a surprising find! The facility is one of the older strip style hotels that had been completely renovated and in the best way! The rooms were quiet, beds were comfortable, toiletries reminded me of a spa, and the decor was charming. The entry to the room was spacious enough to store your snow gear without getting in the way.

One of the greatest features is the courtyard, there was a fun bluegrass-ish band playing, fire pits, corn hole, ping pong, balconies, wooden swings, roof top balconies with seating and best of all Outpost Brewing. You can even get a s’mores kit in the lobby.

Heavenly gondola, the casinos, and all the wonderful shops are less than a block away. Beach access is a block in the other direction.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank mjbpbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the hot tubs and live music during your stay. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

- “so glad you had a chance to enjoy Outpost Brewing Co. and blue-grass band that played during your stay”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Service at front desk was Good. Friendly service at the Outpost. Love the ambience in the beer garden, live music was great. We had a pet friendly room. Room #148. Room was below to just average. Carpet looked dirty. Toilet was already clogged when we got there. Called front desk, no maintenance person front desk said, since it was Father's day. She said all she can do was bring a plunger to our room. My husband spent part of his Father's day unclogging your toilet, so we wouldn't have a problem. I was going to ask for a partial refund, but didn't want to deal with it. Would I stay there again, most likely not, but would come to the Outpost for a beer.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank vicky417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay.

I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team regarding the carpet and we are replacing that carpet asap. We are sorry to hear about the plumbing issue as well.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews