We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Food at Reasonable Prices”
Review of Sombras Bar

Sombras Bar
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Tofo
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 December 2023

Sombra’s is a completely unpretentious place offering authentic Mozambican cuisine and drinks at very reasonable prices.

It was warm on this December evening, and the restaurant's lone fan didn't make much of a difference when it was finally turned on. The locals in town are naturally indifferent to the sultry heat, but we tourists sweated with decorum.

The kitchen works s-l-o-w-l-y but methodically. Our two excellent caipirinhas (Brazilian drink) arrived after 15 minutes, and the main courses took about 45 minutes to be ready. Besides us, there was only a family of 4 present, so it's not as if the women in the kitchen were under stress.

The food was of solid quality. Shrimp curry with coconut rice and grilled squid with the same side. The rice was a bit overcooked, the shrimp well done, and it was hard to discern the grilled flavor on the squid - but we had a sense that this is how Africans themselves would eat these dishes. Not refined, but not sloppy either, just straightforward.

The prices are on the lower end compared to the city's more sophisticated restaurants.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2020 via mobile

It may take a while but it's worth it.
Fresh and delicious food made as you order.
People are very friendly and caring.

The menu is diverse and the price is fair and accessible.
It has Mozambican and Portuguese food. Diverse salads and grills.

BTW... it's our 3rd time here.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank silviareginaemilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

We waited 90 minutes for our food even though we only ordered grilled fish!
Once it arrived it was tasty.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2019 via mobile

I've been to Tofo many times but for some reason I've only ever bought sandwiches here for lunch (which is good too).
Last night I ordered the Tuna and o wow! That was the yummiest fish I've ever had! Defs going back this week for more.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank leandri_archer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

Best amazing fantastic super duper hyper adrenalin pumped up chicken and m2 beer in town. Will come back for sure!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Knoxwell3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sombras Bar also viewed

Tofo, Inhambane Province
 

Been to Sombras Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.