We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, live music on Sundays”
Review of DATHONGA

DATHONGA
Ranked #10 of 29 Restaurants in Tofo
Price range: R 57 - R 215
Description: Dathonga is a space where we host art, music and cultural events in the heart of Tofo. We have live music every Sunday evening throughout the year. Our gallery is accompanied by a restaurant serving fresh seafood, tacos, pizzas and our house special, Matapa wraps. This is a dish unique to Dathonga, a must try!
Restaurant details
Description: Dathonga is a space where we host art, music and cultural events in the heart of Tofo. We have live music every Sunday evening throughout the year. Our gallery is accompanied by a restaurant serving fresh seafood, tacos, pizzas and our house special, Matapa wraps. This is a dish unique to Dathonga, a must try!
Reviewed 13 August 2023

We loved the freshly made pizzas, and the Falafel wrap was the best falafel I've ever eaten. Great atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank N1832VYamys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richie O'Connell, Owner at DATHONGA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thanks so much for taking time out to give such a great review! We're delighted you enjoyed your evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2023 via mobile

Real Mozambique food, very well cooked and served! The best place to eat sea food in Tofo! We come here often and the food is always amazing! Fresh food and big portions, together with big smiles from the waiter! We highly recommend, it’s the best spot in Tofo!

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank 905teresac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richie O'Connell, Owner at DATHONGA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thanks for your lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2020

Very happy to see Dathonga back open after the pandemic! The new chef they have got in has worked all over the world and from your first mouthful it is obvious he's very talented. I had fried fish with dill and olives which was without a doubt the best fish dish I have ever tasted in Tofo which is not an easy title to claim! Now that the live music is back underway at the bar if you don't fancy eating you can always just chill in the garden with a beer and enjoy the show as long as you understand that you WILL be jealous of the food being bought out!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2020

I think the fact that I have been back 3 times already speaks for itself. really great pizzas served. They also serve good fruit drinks and coffee.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 548michaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

We had been to this restaurant three times during our stay in Tofo. The food is very good, they serve also pizza but the regular food is better. The staff is very nice and the music is also good.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Gaia04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BeachBaraca, Owner at DATHONGA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020
Google Translation

Obrigado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DATHONGA also viewed

Tofo, Inhambane Province
Tofo, Inhambane Province
 
Tofo, Inhambane Province
Tofo, Inhambane Province
 

Been to DATHONGA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.