We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner - wonderful view”

Mango Beach Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Tofo
Price range: R 3 - R 6
Description: Mango Beach Restaurant & Bar is a family restaurant which is 3.4kms out of Tofo town along the Beach Road and about a 30 minute walk along the beach. Our Restaurant & Bar is located on top of the dune with spectacular ocean views on one side and amazing sun sets over the palm trees on the other. Rustic decor in a relaxed and tranquil setting where you can enjoy great food freshly prepared which includes Seafood, Mexican dishes, Thai and Korma curry's and our Home Made Pasta's and Pizza's which you create yourself. We are both Vegan and Vegetarian friendly. A great place to relax, take in the wonderful views and listen to good music while sipping on cocktails or a drink of your choice. Our staff, Samuel, Manuel and Teles, are only too happy to serve you and make your experience with us a memorable one. The Ocean pools in front of us are great for kids to swim or even snorkel. Come and 'Catch your Breath' with us! NB 4x4 is required but call us on +258 262 3704 and we will Pick You Up!
Restaurant details
Description: Mango Beach Restaurant & Bar is a family restaurant which is 3.4kms out of Tofo town along the Beach Road and about a 30 minute walk along the beach. Our Restaurant & Bar is located on top of the dune with spectacular ocean views on one side and amazing sun sets over the palm trees on the other. Rustic decor in a relaxed and tranquil setting where you can enjoy great food freshly prepared which includes Seafood, Mexican dishes, Thai and Korma curry's and our Home Made Pasta's and Pizza's which you create yourself. We are both Vegan and Vegetarian friendly. A great place to relax, take in the wonderful views and listen to good music while sipping on cocktails or a drink of your choice. Our staff, Samuel, Manuel and Teles, are only too happy to serve you and make your experience with us a memorable one. The Ocean pools in front of us are great for kids to swim or even snorkel. Come and 'Catch your Breath' with us! NB 4x4 is required but call us on +258 262 3704 and we will Pick You Up!
Reviewed 15 August 2023

We loved the pizza and the freshly made juices for dinner. The staff was all smiles and so much fun. And the restaurant has one of the best views for sunset in Tofo.
It is a bit out of town - we took a walk at the beach to get there, but you can also call them, they offer pick up service to very lodge at Tofo.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2022

My wife and I visited for lunch on the recommendation of our son and daughter-in-law. We were not disappointed. As a matter of fact the food and experience exceeded our expectations.

The menu is quite large with a big variety of different cuisines. We had the prawn korma and the red Thai prawn curry respectively, the food was exceptional. The staff and management were very friendly and accommodating and the view beautiful.

It is apparently a 30 minute walk from Tofo. We, however, drove. It is a short but challenging drive, with a short up hill section of deep loose sand. A 4 x 4 is definitely required.

We will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bertus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2022

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both. We have been working on the soft sand on the hill, so next time you visit, it should not be as challenging! Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2021 via mobile

We have been to Mangos twice during our stay in Tofo. Stephan and Paula are the most incredible hosts and Sam and the rest of the staff are unbelievably friendly. Mangos Beach bar is perfectly situated on a dune and has great views of the beach and the ocean. There is a tidal pool in front of the restaurant for the kids to swim in.

There is a great variety of delicious food on the menu and service levels are superb.

Overall a brilliant experience, we look forward to our next visit this week!!

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank Trip44565574690
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2021

Thank you for your kind review. It was amazing to have you guys here with us.
We are so looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

Situated about 30 minutes walk down the beach from Tofo village, this restaurant is the perfect location for a stroll and delicious dinner overlooking the stunning beach and ocean. The menu has something for everyone - from delicious pizzas, tacos, enchiladas which our kids loved, to amazing Thai curries and fresh seafood for the adults. The cocktails are pretty good too! The service is excellent and the owners kindly dropped us home back in Tofo after dinner. Really cannot recommend this place highly enough, it's a must-do while in Tofo!

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sevillanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2021

Thank you for this amazing review. Much appreciated.
It’s was lovely to host you and your group with us this year. We look forward to seeing you all again next time you in Tofo.
Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2021

Mango beach is by far my favourite spot for a late afternoon meal, breezy, beautiful view, great atmosphere, and THE BEST food ever. The calzone is honestly life-changing!

We walked from Tofo beach to Mango Beach for lunch, and back again, and if you catch it on a low tide you can even do some snorkelling and rockpool exploration which is amazing.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lloydfram
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Thank you Lloyd for your review. It’s always a pleasure having you all join us for the afternoon at the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Beach Restaurant also viewed

Tofo, Inhambane Province
Tofo, Inhambane Province
 
Tofo, Inhambane Province
 

Been to Mango Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.