We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place you cannot miss once in Tofo”

Mango Beach Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Tofo
Price range: R 3 - R 6
Description: Mango Beach Restaurant & Bar is a family restaurant which is 3.4kms out of Tofo town along the Beach Road and about a 30 minute walk along the beach. Our Restaurant & Bar is located on top of the dune with spectacular ocean views on one side and amazing sun sets over the palm trees on the other. Rustic decor in a relaxed and tranquil setting where you can enjoy great food freshly prepared which includes Seafood, Mexican dishes, Thai and Korma curry's and our Home Made Pasta's and Pizza's which you create yourself. We are both Vegan and Vegetarian friendly. A great place to relax, take in the wonderful views and listen to good music while sipping on cocktails or a drink of your choice. Our staff, Samuel, Manuel and Teles, are only too happy to serve you and make your experience with us a memorable one. The Ocean pools in front of us are great for kids to swim or even snorkel. Come and 'Catch your Breath' with us! NB 4x4 is required but call us on +258 262 3704 and we will Pick You Up!
Restaurant details
Description: Mango Beach Restaurant & Bar is a family restaurant which is 3.4kms out of Tofo town along the Beach Road and about a 30 minute walk along the beach. Our Restaurant & Bar is located on top of the dune with spectacular ocean views on one side and amazing sun sets over the palm trees on the other. Rustic decor in a relaxed and tranquil setting where you can enjoy great food freshly prepared which includes Seafood, Mexican dishes, Thai and Korma curry's and our Home Made Pasta's and Pizza's which you create yourself. We are both Vegan and Vegetarian friendly. A great place to relax, take in the wonderful views and listen to good music while sipping on cocktails or a drink of your choice. Our staff, Samuel, Manuel and Teles, are only too happy to serve you and make your experience with us a memorable one. The Ocean pools in front of us are great for kids to swim or even snorkel. Come and 'Catch your Breath' with us! NB 4x4 is required but call us on +258 262 3704 and we will Pick You Up!
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

Once you are in Tofo it is a must to go to Mango Beach restaurant, combination of idyllic location, wonderful food and cocktails among other drinks makes you feel so good in this remote part of Mozambique.The menu is immense! Special recognition to the friendly and professional owners of the place, they have been doing a wonderful though not easy job of providing high quality service, giving their knowledge to the members of local community and teaching them from scratch! When tide is high one can enjoy swimming in lagoons in front of the restaurant! PS Very easy to reach there walking on the beach

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank NatRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Thank you for your amazing review. As you mention, yes we do have quite a immense menu, we like to give our guests a variety of different flavors from various parts of the world done the Mango way, hence the large menu..

Helping our local community is something close to our hearts and to be able to give something back to them in the way of cooking or customer service is our way of passing it forward.

We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope one day when COVID is a memory you will be back to experience it all over again.
Thank you! Team Mango

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2020

Wow, wow, wow! We have heard so many comment about the excellent quality of the food at Mango Beach, and we finally experienced their food for ourselves.... They did not disappoint! In fact, they exceeded our expectations!

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank RebelLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

We thank you for these kind words and it is very heart warming to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and that we were able to exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Paula and Team Mango

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

We came here in the low season and on a heavy rainy day, so that we are the only guests of the restaurant that evening. We took the entire restaurant and we got very good service. The meal was really delicious and the price was worth the value. The restaurant is on the top of a dune so we got a great view to see the ocean and the sound of the waves became the background music of the restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JCKU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you ventured out on a rainy day in Tofo to enjoy the Mango Experience with us. The Staff, I know, was happy to be of service to you and we are hope to see you again one day without the rain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2020

I've been to Mango Beach restaurant on 5 separate occasions - and on each occasion I had a different delicious dish. I'm amazed you can order anything from a seafood platter, to vegan korma to a custom calzone and still consistently eat something absolutely delicious.
On top of the food,it's an amazing place to have drink before sunset - as it's situated in an absolutely beautiful location.
Lastly Stefan and Paula are incredible people - arguably the kindest, most helpful people in Tofo who always provide service with a smile. It's always a pleasure to see both of them around town. Backed by an incredible kitchen and serving staff, Mango Beach restaurant is not a place to be missed when you arrive in Tofo.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kaledward
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Kyle, we thank you! from the bar staff to the kitchen staff and management it has been a great pleasure to host you and Hanna together with the good people who have joined you each time. It makes us happy to be able to make your experience with us special each time, and you are definitely part of the Mango Family. Thank you for your support!
Take care Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

Highly recommend, great venue and hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed the lunch, will most certainly return if we are ever in the Tofo area again.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank johan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MangoBeachLodge, Owner at Mango Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

HI Johan
Thank you for joining us for our Christmas Lunch, we enjoyed having you and your family with us.
We certainly look forward to your next visit with us.
Kind regards
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Beach Restaurant also viewed

Tofo, Inhambane Province
Tofo, Inhambane Province
 
Tofo, Inhambane Province
 

Been to Mango Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.