We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try”
Review of Kalky's

Kalky's
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Best fish and chips in Cape Town..hands down! Inexpensive. Crispy fresh fish and lots of chips. The fish, calamari and chips combo has considerably less chips though. Highly recommend

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank leia987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

Our guide (Rob) brought us here to meet the ladies at the pier and to gain an understanding of their roles with the fishermen. After talking to them we decided we needed to try the "world's best fish and chips" so we walked in to Kalky's.

The three of us shared one order of fish and chips. The fish was fresh and perfectly fried. It may indeed be the world's best fish and chips!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

If you want a typical southern Cape experience with excellent quality fish, then you must try Kalkies! Situated in the Kalk Bay harbor next to the fishing boats, this quaint restaurant is clearly a favorite of the locals. We love the simplicity and wonderful atmosphere, great service and the friendliness of the Staff. We take our own cutlery, wine and wine glasses but plastic is available. Last night our group ordered 1 X hake and chips, 1 X snoek and chips and 2 X grilled calamari and chips and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Remember it closes at 8pm.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

The food here is reasonably priced and very tasty. It has a good old SA feel. Ladies that deliver food to tables are wonderful, friendly people with wonderful senses of humour. Gets very busy but service is quick. Definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Our grilled calamari and chips was delicious. It’s unfortunate that the guy behind the counter was quite rude to us. Take cash as they don’t accept cards.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank GrantB1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalky's also viewed

 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Kalky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing