We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best oysters I've ever had!!”
Review of Brass Bell

Brass Bell
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Food, Fun, sea and sun are the essence of this spectacular venue which has views over the Kalk Bay harbour, Simonstown and all the way across False Bay. Enjoy a meal and drinks with friends in a relaxed and laid back atmosphere literally right on the ocean. During a high tide it is not a rare occasion for the waves to splash up against your table. The Brass Bell is an iconic institution and is continuously upgrading to ensure complete customer satisfaction. We aim to please! The Brass Bell is located in the heart of the historic fishing village of Kalk Bay, Cape Town. This seaside location not only offers one of the most amazing views in Cape Town but with 8 different dining areas, there is something to suit everyone. Surrounded by rolling waves, the restaurant complex of terraced dining areas, pubs and entertainment theatre offers visitors an unforgettable and truly unique dining experience.
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

I had the pleasure of eating my fill of fantastic oysters at this cute establishment. They were fresh, lean, and perfectly firm. Upon travelling more in the area afterwards, I have definitely cone to the conclusion that these are the best oysters available anywhere! Also wonderful service-- we wandered in after our delayed flight at about 10:15 pm and were told that the kitchen had closed. However when we queried about the oysters, the waiter said no problem, which was a huge relief! We paid them back with many visits during our 6 days in Kalk Bay. Don't miss this place!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Savvy_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 750 of 1 255 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2016

We had been recommended this place by so many people – locals, tourists who had just been, blogs, websites, just about everyone everywhere says this place is a 'do not miss' type of establishment. I have to agree – everything was great, the views, the food, the staff.. Made for a fine lunch whilst the waves crashed in next to us.

Although I am all for eating in the less raved about places this is one time to listen to the hype and definitely stop for lunch at the brass bell, especially if on a drive island tour – start from the other side, miss the traffic and you arrive here just on time. The stop/go situation outside the road is really annoying so try and time your coming/going with the lights!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zulucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Service - very good. The food and drinks arrived quickly. Although some waitresses to seem very unhappy to be there they were nice on the whole. Our waitress Amy did not disappoint, she was great and easy to approach. She continued to check up on us to make sure all was good.
Atmosphere - Enjoyable and suited for young and older people. Lovely view.
Food - Not something I would rave about but it was nice enough. The calamari could have been better. The chips are yummy though.

Date of visit: January 2016
1  Thank yoletteruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

When i was pregnant, we went out with another couple for lunch. They organised me virgin cocktails and were very friendly. There was amazing music being played by a live band. And the water is so so calming. It is the perfect location. All our meals were perfect and we enjoyed it. Well done guys.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee-sah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

Awesome food, awesome atmosphere and good value for money. Must try the mussels and prawns! We were given a great table with service second to none. It doesn't matter what you order on the menus, you likely to have a great time...

Date of visit: January 2016
1  Thank Travel609261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brass Bell also viewed

 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Brass Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing