We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fern Cottage

Welcome to Fern Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Fern Cottage
Living Room with woodburning stove Roomy kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Welcome to Fern Cottage
Living Room with woodburning stove
Roomy kitchen/diner
Dining area
Family bathroom upstairs
Main bedroom with kingsize bed
Twin bedroom upstairs with pine furniture
Single bedroom downstairs
Comfortable living room furniture
Main bedroom
Beams in hallway
Living Room
Courtyard garden with table and chairs
Summer evening view from front of cottage
The Bell pub, Iden
Rye, Church Square
View from Rye Parish Church
Iden Recreation Ground
Country walk
Country walk
Country walk nearby
All Saints churchyard
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Iden, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing but should not have been.”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we recently stayed at Fern Cottage booked through you. We had assumed that, since we were not allowed entry to the cottage until 4pm , this would give plenty of time for the cottage to be cleaned etc for us, the next paying guests. We were rather dismayed that the first thing we saw on opening the front door was a hall light covered in cobwebs. We then went into the kitchen and found that the previous people has just put crockery, mugs, glasses and cooking utensils back without washing them. The mugs were absolutely appalling and has to be soaked for quite a few hours before we could use them. There were bits of food left on the cooker , in the fridge and on the kitchen table.
It is clear that not only had the kitchen not cleaned properly but the whole place had not seen a duster for some while.
I did contact Tessa, the owner, sending them a couple of photos to illustrate out point. In her reply she states that 'she has taken our comments on board ' but they do 'rely on guests to leave the crockery and cutlery as they find them'. This is not much of a comfort for us and we were very disappointed in the fact that there was no real appreciation of the fact that we had had to spend the first few hours of our stay, which was for a long weekend only, cleaning up etc. I did point out that surely it was their responsibility, having taken our paid booking, for them to make sure the cottage was fit for purpose. Not only was the cottage disappointing in this respect, but the response from the owner was equally so. I will be filling in our feed back accordingly.
Could not find a contact email address for Holiday Lettings

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Potential for a cosy feel
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2015
We are naturally disappointed by this review. The guest did contact us on arrival regarding a lampshade and the items of crockery, for which we apologised at the time. We had not had any previous complaints regarding cleanliness, but have ensured that these items will be checked before any future lettings. We have also replaced the mugs with some that are easier to keep clean.
We are sorry if the matters raised spoilt our guests' enjoyment of their holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelseare...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

House was superb.Spotlessly clean and very welcoming.Its actually a lot more spacious than it appears on the website .
Location was great,very quiet and although on a main road tje traffic noise was minimal .Iden itself is lovely,a fair distance from Rye if you fancy a walk(we done it once;)...otherwise the bus is your best bet if you don't drive.Rye is fantastic if you like your history..I would certainly recommend the museum opposite the tower..very knowledgable and helpful staff.


Overall we loved our trip and hope to go again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my partner I've Christmas and it was perfect. First of all the communication with the owner was fantastic, as she gave me all the information but also helped me with other things I wished to know.

The location was exactly what we wanted, it was so peaceful and relaxing, with shops and other amenities you might need close by. We drove to camber on Christmas day and strolled along the beautiful beach.

The house itself has everything you might need, board games and books and all kitchen utensils. Everything worked and it was a lovely little cottage to stay in!

I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jankim26
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant and comfortable”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Owners extremely helpful. Cottage well equipped and spacious. Quiet rural area but not too far from Rye. Good walks, less than 3 miles to Rye.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jac_248
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girlie wknd”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fantastic stay here. Everything we needed.good communication from Tessa, who was really helpful with our request.
Thanks Tessa

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$96
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing