We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real home from home, I didn't want the holiday...”
The Highlands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Highlands
The Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
The Highlands
The Sitting Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Downstairs bathroom
Views of the garden and surrounding countryside
Twin room
Downstairs bedroom
The enclosed garden
The Tennis Court
Approach from the drive (back of the house)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Iden, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
etuhs
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real home from home, I didn't want the holiday to end!”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

The house is wonderful for a relaxing break; furnished to a high standard and extremely comfortable, it was an oasis of calm! The house itself is full of character, the rooms are all cosy and in excellent repair. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and have easy access to either the upstairs or downstairs bathroom. The downstairs bathroom is huge and even has a bubbling bath as well as a shower! The lounge has a real log fire which we put to good use. The dining room is spacious and seats c.11-12 people, so a real hub. In the summer, the garden would be wonderful for picnics, games, tennis - it's huge and overlooks a field. The village of Iden has a small shop and pub, and is a short drive from Rye, a very pretty place in which it's easy to wander for hours! I would highly recommend this property, I will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable and warm atmosphere the house provides.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeyPrz
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely old house for good times with friends”
Reviewed 27 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Our group of friends have stayed here numerous times over the last 10 years - the large kitchen and dining room are perfect for nice big meals and we love the tennis court. There's lots to do in Rye and around and the the village pub does a great Sunday roast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feels like an old family home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly house - perfect for a group get together”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

I've stayed at the Highlands with a group of friends several times over the past few years and they've been some of our favourite weekends. Cosy evenings in front of the fire in winter, lazing in the garden and playing tennis in summer. And long brunches around the big dining room table and trips to the beach any time of the year. The house is just a short walk to a little village pub and shop, and only a few minutes drive or cycle into Rye. 110% recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire, great dining room with big table
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfy big house, a sanctury from the city”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Highlands for our 4 year anniversary and had a wonderful, romantic break away from London.

We settled in immediately and basked in the last summer sunshine in the beautiful secluded garden whilst sipping tea and catching up on the newspapers.

In the evening, we treated ourselves to a meal at Ambrette, a fantastic Indian fusion restaurant in Rye, followed by cocktails at the George Hotel opposite. We then trundled back to the Highlands to relax infront on the open fire and lounge on the comfy sofas.

Friends joined us on Saturday, of which we spent playing tennis and picnicking on the freshly mowed lawn. We also went to the seaside, only 20 minutes away by car. Returning to the house we enjoyed the jacuzzi before sitting down for dinner in the large dining room.

The rain came down on Sunday so we decided to spend the morning playing boardgames (we found scrabble and boggle in the cupboard) and then we went to the independant cinema in Hawkhurst followed by more lounging infront of the fireplace watching Downton Abbey and eating cheese.

All in all, a fantastic weekend in a beautiful setting. Gorgeous greenery everywhere and a delightful farm down the road.

I'd highly recommend the Highlands (for couples, families as well as groups of friends) and plan to go there again.

Naomi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds and the views from the bedrooms.
Liked least: No internet - but some say that's a good thing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DottylS
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and garden - the perfect retreat”
Reviewed 26 October 2012 for a stay in November 2011

I stayed in this house with a group of old friends this time last year and we all absolutely loved it. So much so that we have just re-booked to go again in a few weeks' time. The house has a really cosy feel but at the same time enough space that even with a large group of us we never felt on top of one another. The surrounding garden is lovely and the location perfect for getting to the coast or to Rye, though we were mostly just happy to stay at home and enjoy being in such a lovely old family home. Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house itself
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing