We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy New Year!”
other travellers have booked this property
Milkwood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Milkwood
Deck Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Milkwood
Deck
Hot Tub
Front Room
Front Room
Master bedroom
Second Bedroom
Dinning Room
Fully Fitted Kitchen
Hall
Sauna Room
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brithdir, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
roukev
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy New Year!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely location with breath taking walks on your doorstep. Car essential if you want to explore even locally although Asda do deliver shopping to the lodge! Facilities are excellent although personally I think much more could be made of the space available as the lodge is very spacious compared to others we have visited. Not sure on the sauna - maybe better used as a second bedroom? Understand the reasons for stopping the hot tubs but we enjoyed this feature and it made New Years Eve and many a cold night and think its is a added attraction to the lodge. Probably in need of a décor update as there is a smell of damp at times especially in the master bedroom, but not overpowering. We used it as a base to explore. Barmouth is only a short drive with a stunning beach, Dolgellau is very pretty and the Cross Foxes Pub near Dolgellau was dog friendly and very welcoming. I cannot fault the lodge, yes there were instructions for most equipment but we did not find them 'in your face' they were there if needed. Would recommend for dog lovers, quiet weekends or a base to explore this area. Thanks to the owners for making this a lovely New Year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chaines91
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Can’t explain how amazing the place is. It was just the perfect place for my fiancé and I to stay for a week. Cozy warm with plenty to do in the area.
Will definitely go back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drawroda
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A most beautiful cabin in an idyllic location ”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very comfortable and most enjoyable three night break at Milk Wood.
The facilities and cabin were excellent and extremely clean throughout. The kitchen was so well equipped that it put most household kitchens to shame. There was a brand new cooker and washer, dryer and dishwasher.
The whole cabin is spacious and the log burner was an added bonus.
The bedrooms have lots of storage and the beds comfortable.

The person who has reviewed this as a one star before this review is frankly the most stupid person ever.
How on earth would anyone know how to work appliances, tv, sauna, hot tub etc without instructions. Unfortunately some people are stupid enough to put nappies etc in the toilet and this will lead to huge repair costs for the owner as well as the impact on other guests whose holidays would have to be cancelled while the problem is sorted.
There were no bad smells and the owner never intruded on our space.
So as this idiot has titled his review ‘please read’ then yes, read all the other excellent ones and have a great holiday.
Many thanks Phil.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaD1...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please read.”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
4
people found this review helpful

I would to start on a positive as the rest of this is unfortunately going to be negative. The cabin is situated in the most beautiful location with stunning scenery. The facilities which are of use such as the hot tub and sauna are fantastic.

However, on the hot tub rules and regulations state you can only use it at certain hours. The hot tub is checked every day by the owner who turned up within in the hours of allowed use. The owner should of been more considerate and informative of what time he would be arriving so we wasn't put in an awkward situation.

The decor is 20 years out of date and curtains and coven covered in dust and cobwebs. There is damp smells coming from sauna and rear door area.

The rules and regulations are beyond a joke. If you don't follow them strictly, you will lose the deposit you have paid in advance. Rules include things like 'don't put nappies or condoms down the toilet' this is a sign which you are greeted with infront of the toilet. That is just one of the rules so you can imagine some of the others which are also stuck around the cabin.

Despite the issues this just needs ripping out, cleaned and redecorating and would be the perfect retreat. Also, if the owner didn't treat the guests like employees or servants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Odd, Friday evening of your departure I received your email to the effect that you enjoyed your stay and will book again, and when would you get your security deposit back? Saturday I replied that I would require reassurance, since it is a Self-catering lodge, that you would follow the left-as-found policy of leaving the lodge tidy as found, and all things put away? I believe the rest of my other guest reviews on all three properties speak for themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing