We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful pet friendly Country Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane M
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful pet friendly Country Cottage”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a lovely find this cottage was. Sometimes when you take a holiday let that allows dogs the standards are not always the best, well that is definitely not true in this case. The standards throughout were excellent. The cottage has been done to an amazingly high standard. Everything has been thought about. Its homely but in a really tasteful way. The cottage has been equipped with everything you will need. We stayed in and cooked a couple of times and it was a very well equipped kitchen.

The bed was so comfortable and the bedroom very spacious. The only criticism would be the head height by the sink in the bathroom but we understand the owners are hoping to do something about this later in the year.

We eat at the local pub, the Chalk and Cheese, which was pub food and fine and very friendly. We also went to The Grey Hound Inn at Sydling St Nichols which was lovely with great food. Both pubs allow dogs

The location is great. Its easy to get to the coast. We went by train - 25 minutes to Weymouth. There are also got great walks in the countryside right from the cottage.

We liked it so much that we plan to return later in the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the local pubs. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill M
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage just right for 2”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely decorated home.dogs had a lovely time. Local pub good for food and dog friendly.Lovely log burner made for a cosy stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2017
Glad you enjoyed the cottage and the dogs had a lovely time too. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahpb88
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic stay , no faults.”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The old coach house is a beautiful cottage, we stayed in November so took full advantage of the log wood burner. The walking is great , we embarked on a 12 mile walk straight from the front door!
There is a local pub , restaurant and fully stocked local shops all within walking distance.
The cottage is dog friendly so no need to leave furry friends at home !
The kitchen has everything you could want , the bathroom has a powerful shower and the bed is so comfortable!
No complaints at all. We are already planning our next visit.!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed the cottage and the lovely walks, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool...
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was everything we could have wished for. Every comfort and lovely hosts, our bottle of bubbly on our last day a touching gesture. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, wer'e glad you enjoyed your honeymoon and best of luck for the future. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banks7899
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lush”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well situated cottage. Approx 30 mins from any main coast/beach. The locals know the lanes around the area better so be aware when driving. But enjoy the views. Cottage was clean and well kept. Even dog treats and toys provided. Dogs very welcome in this part of the country. Even the pubs love them. Furnishing is amazing and just relaxing. Would I stay again? Yes. Definitely. Thanks guys

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind comments we're glad you enjoyed the cottage and local area. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing