We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable family hol;iday”
The stone barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stone barn
Dining area and lounge Conservatory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The stone barn
Dining area and lounge
Conservatory
Rear of barn
Master Bedroom
En Suite bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Main bathroom/shower
Ground floor wc with shower
Dining area /stairs
Garden at rear of barn
House from drive-lots of parking!
Rear house, solar roof
Kitchen
Play room with ping pong/ table football/freezer
View from bedroom
View from conservatory
Kitchen
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DerekT23
Ramsgate Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyable family hol;iday”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we received a warm welcome from Sarah together with a short tour of the Barn which enabled us to settle in. The Barn is well equipped and maintained; the bedrooms were a good size for the seven of us ranging from 10 months to 77.
Barn has plenty of parking spaces, but as mentioned access onto the main road after leaving the gated exit needs care.
Games room in the garden with table tennis and table football were good fun, and we made good use of the Conventional BBQ provided
The village has a good fish and chip shop, general stores and pub all within a 5/10 minute walk.
Would defiantly recommend staying here, but be aware accessing local beaches and attractions does involve car journeys between 25 to 45 minutes i.e. Monkey World, Farmer Palmers, Weymouth and Bridport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm W
1 review
“Comfort and Relaxation”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a most enjoyable week’s holiday at Lynchett Chase Barn, three generations of the family in all. The barn was spacious, well equipped and comfortable; it suited us down to the ground. Sarah was very friendly and helpful.
Although the barn is on the edge of a country village, the location was surprisingly cental and provided easy access to most of the obvious places of interest; we didn’t spend as much time in the car as we thought we might do. The countryside in that part of Dorset is very attractive. The village of Maiden Newton provides a good range of facilities: pub, petrol station, Spar shop, village stores, coffee shop, fish and chip shop etc. We took advantage of most of them and only ventured to a supermarket a couple of times when passing.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, local amenities
Liked least: Mobile phone signal (but I didn't mind, I was the only one whose network provided a signal!), occasional wi-fi interruption.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaylo
Reading, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and Central”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nice barn conversion in central Dorset. Easy drive to coast and various sites. Very friendly locals in village and pubs. Property ideal - though be aware if you feel lost without your Tech that your mobile might not work all the time. Good cooked breakfast in village newsagent/cafe (see separate reviews). Nice pubs in villages around - ok pub in village as long as you don't expect gastro! Not been to Dorset for many years but we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; garden, local facilities
Liked least: Phone signal and occasional issues with internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning barn, great location!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just got back from a weeks visit to this stunning barn. I have to say it was absolutely perfect for us. We were a large group, 3 couples and 4 children but there was ample space as they provided us with two cots for the babies.

We had a warm welcome from Sarah who couldn't do enough for us.

The barn itself is decorated and furnished to a high standard and has a luxury feel to it. The grounds are large and completely secure.

Location wise, you couldn't be more central to a variety of different days out. We had days out at Monkey World, Subtropical gardens, Dorchester, the beach at Weymouth and Farmer Palmers which was great for the kids. All excellent and within approx 15-30 minutes drive.

In the village of Maiden Newton there is a chip shop, gazette shop/ cafe that we enjoyed a nice breakfast at on the morning of our arrival. There is also a good village shop and then a bit further on, a spa shop and the Chalk n Cheese pub with a great beer garden. There is a kids playground up near the village hall too within walking distance.

A few minutes drive out of the village there is another pub, Fox & hound. Great burgers, nice beer garden and a fantastic kids play area opposite the front of the pub.

If you need a super market, it's a short 15 min drive towards Dorchester. We found a Lidl and co-op. I'm sure there must be others too.

All in all, it's a stunning barn with loads to see and do. I hope to visit again in the not to distant future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
Chalkwell, Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Regular Visitor”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have stayed at the Barn several times. We have friends and relatives in the area and we have adopted Lynchett Chase Barn as our 'holiday home' (if only we could afford one!). The benefits of the place are:
- the grounds are spacious, private and safe, with plenty of parking at the front and a lawn at the back for the children to play in.
- great open plan living area with plenty of seats, dining area and kitchen which feels comfortable and communal.
- the bedrooms are comfortable and have that 'barn/countryside' feel.
- the facilities such as wifi, music system with built in speakers, television etc. are good.
- the overall quality of the environment is good quality.
- Gaynor, who looks after the barn, is very helpful.
Disadvantages?
- the internet is a bit slow (but common in this part of dorset).
- the television has sky but only the most basic of stations.
- the sound from the living area travels to the bedrooms easily so early risers (particularly children) will soon wake up those still in bed.
We love it there and plan to return there regularly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing