We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little and sweet”
Review of The Sidewalk Cafe

The Sidewalk Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Vredehoek
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little and sweet”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

This is one of my favorites in Cape Town. Its a very small restaurant in Vredehoek, but the vibe makes this place great, the food and drinks is also amazing! This is a great place for one on one dates!!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Marquerite03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    48
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Date Spot”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I read about it in a Bloomberg article. The restaurant is cute and intimate. It's great for a first date or an ordinary one. Our meal was delicious and our server, Vava, was so sweet and energetic!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank rpmolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adorable”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The cutest little gem on the side of the mountain.
It's tiny but doesn't dynamite come in small packages!
I could never recommend just one thing here, you won't go wrong with whatever it is you choose!
A hidden gem very much frequented by the locals of the area.
Love it

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinrobe, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing casual local diner”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Visited as a family of 5 and were impressed with the charm friendliness and value for money.
Had a variety from fish and chips to burgers, spaghetti primavera calamari and chicken curry.
All were pleased with the service and twinkle twinkle our waitress.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Homely and good ”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Small but classy breakfast and lunches served at this little local eatery ... nothing fancy but has a very local vibe to it -

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sidewalk Cafe also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Sidewalk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing