We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and good ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sidewalk Cafe

The Sidewalk Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Vredehoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely and good ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Small but classy breakfast and lunches served at this little local eatery ... nothing fancy but has a very local vibe to it -

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    46
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“okay but pricey for what one gets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Ate dinner here a while ago but not a really memorable experience. Well situated above the city with a buzzy vibe with tables on the pavement and lots more tucked around the inside. It's, I think pricey, because it forms part of the Madame Zingara Group. Staff were friendly and attentive. I don't think we'll come back here or make it our 'go-to' place as we live on the other side of the mountain, and there are more places to eat out closer to home, as well as further out worth traveling to.

  • Visited November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frenske O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and two for one cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

This cafe was recommended to us by some locals during our stay in Cape Town. It's fairly small inside but also warm and welcoming. My Vegetarian Moussaka was delicious and my partner's Risotto was equally tasty. We found the staff friendly and the food reasonably priced. Two for one cocktails in the afternoon are an added bonus. We would, however, recommend booking a table or getting there early, especially if you are a larger group, as it's obviously very popular!

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

A very small and cozy place, a lot of locals eating. Good vibe and friendly staff.
I choose the granola, yoghurt and fresh fruit. I loved it so much! Does someone knows how to make the granola or where to buy it? Need to know..

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

We have booked to eat here in a few days' time but have already popped in for cocktails on 2 occasions. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. They have happy 'hour' every day from 3 to 6 and the cocktails on offer were excellent.
Waiting to see if the food is as good........watch this space!

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aswefindit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sidewalk Cafe also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Sidewalk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing