We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A casual relaxed good value option”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sidewalk Cafe

The Sidewalk Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Vredehoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ballinrobe, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A casual relaxed good value option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2016

A small bustling restaurant with outside tables on the sidewalk.
It has a young clientele. Small menu fish And chips excellent.
Only disappointment was that the calamari bruschetta was actually a calamari with a slice of toast on the side.

  • Visited February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    46
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy, comfortable eatery with charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2016

This is a bustling place, with interesting, fun decor, giving it a cozy and comfortable feel. With near gale force winds that night, we could not enjoy the sidewalk seating experience, but the atmosphere in side was very inviting and relaxed. The service was very friendly although not always timeous or complete as to what was ordered. But the waitress made up for that with an endearing and honest charm, mindful and apologetic about her omissions.
The food was very good - bistro type, well-presented and all of good quality - we had a wonderful evenings

  • Visited January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Affirmation333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unexpectadly fun and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2016

We live not far from this Restaurant under Madame Zingara management.
A joyful place with a lot of young people and a few older couples like us.
We were so well taken care of by the young waitress and had an exciting meal - not super, super - but very good and price worthy.
Excellent service.

  • Visited January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude and Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The magic is in the setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2016

Few things are as amazing as sipping on a half-price cocktail and tucking into a delicious chocolate brownie whilst gazing out at the incredible views of Cape Town from the Side Walk Cafe!

I love all of Madame Zingara's restaurants but this one remains my favourite for its neighbourhood charm, fast service and excellent food.

It sure puts the magic in my day!

  • Visited January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazielah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food & fresh juices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2016

Love this little place, ended up visiting it quite a few times as we were staying locally. The food was very good, our favourite being the Smoked Salmon sandwich. The fresh juices were top notch as well! Manager was very nice, we had an issue with a gift card that was given as a present to us, he sorted it out for us without any fuss. Great job guys!

  • Visited December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sidewalk Cafe also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Sidewalk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing