We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
103
32
14
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
32
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family birthday lunch regular treat pub hotel excellent meal a lovely young lady making our stay so enjoyable stratford upon avon smoked salmon sunday lunch stayed for two nights full english breakfast wonderful stay waiting staff suite mirror furnishings toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Great English pub inn experience, bar staff where excellent and very helpful with the local brews !!, restaurant food was of a high quality. Rooms spacious, modern and very clean. Quite place to stay not far from Stratford. May want to turn down heated towel rail , my wife burnt her bum !!l , would defiantly recommend for the touring couple.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carlston13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellOwner, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments and delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We are sorry for the issue with the towel rail which is being rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Taken by surprise at the level of refinement of the admittedly short menu on offer at The Bell. The spacious table overlooked the pretty rear terrace, service was reserved but attentive and unobtrusive not constantly bobbing in to fill up wine glasses. Our party all chose different starters, mains and dessert and no one was disappointed. One stayed table d’hote, the others strayed off piste onto the a la carte finding the duck perfect and hake delightful. Wouldn’t visit too often as the menu is restricted at least it was on a Monday evening, but an enjoyable evening all round in a half full restaurant. The bar area is most appealing with very attractive decor.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank 132kasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellOwner, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback ad kind compliments. Do come back as we do have other menus available, as well as a la carte there is a bar menu and prix fixe menu (available on set days and times) so hopefully something to suit all.


Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal with excellent service! Very quaint and cosy place. Definitely recommend as a couples night out due to the calm and romantic atmosphere! It is quite pricey however the quality of food is certainly worth it.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank meganl0uiseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellOwner, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Bell. We notice that you have posted your comments in respect of your meal on the accommodation page so please feel free to add a post to the food and drink page. Were delighted that you had a good experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

£145 per night for a very small room and breakfast.

The quality of the furnishings etc was great, but there is no door to the shower room, it's in the small bedroom, and whilst there was conditioner and body cream provided there was nothing useful like shower gel or shampoo. I guess the changeover cleaner must have been in a rush.

We were going to a friends wedding close by but were first told we needed to make sure we were back before the pub closed as they'd lost the key to our room, and the master key they were giving us had not got a key for the external door on it. When we complained we were told they would leave the outside door open all night for us.

Breakfast was good, but did take ages to make. All in all, ok, but not amazing

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becks2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellOwner, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your comments and apologies for any misunderstandings. We hadn't lost the key - a previous overnight guest had taken it away with them and it hadn't yet arrived back in the post. We are sorry but this did leave us in a bit of a predicament. The door was left open for you which gives you access to the corridor and loos - it doesn't leave any guests in a vulnerable position. To clarify we didn't tell you to be back for a certain time, in trying to sort out a solution, we asked what time you would be back.
We're sorry if any of this was lost in translation.

On a positive note we are aware that guests taking keys that are not returned can leave us in a situation and the last thing we want to do is cause or create issues with other overnight guests, therefore, we had scheduled, and it has now been installed, an electronic key fob system. This eliminates the use of keys and as back up (incase anyone takes the fob) we have a digital key pad.

With regards to the toiletries we did change suppliers at this time and we apologise as stock was low before the new items ran out. The change over has been done in an attempt to reduce the use of plastic and we now use refillable bottles. By way of explanation we hope the information below is useful;

The Bell has taken a number of solid steps over the last few months in a bid to minimise the use of plastic and chemicals to help the environment. The first simple and obvious conversion was to replace plastic drinking straws with those made of paper that are also biodegradable. For guests staying with us overnight, we only refresh towels for guests staying with us for more than one night and only if we are requested to do so. Our apothecary products have been replaced throughout to those supplied by a local company 100 Acres. They try to source organic ingredients wherever possible and their products do not contain any nasty parabens, petrochemicals, sulphates, artificial colourings or fragrances. Furthermore, the products are not tested on animals. To dispense the products we use refillable bottles rather than disposable ones to reduce our use of plastic. The vanity kits contain 3 organic embossed cotton pads and 3 organic paper, rather than plastic, stick cotton buds which are presented in a resealable sachet which is made from recycled plastic.
Since its invention some 100 years ago, plastic has become an integral part of our daily lives, but every year some eight million tons of it ends up in the ocean. Once there, plastic breaks down into tiny fragments - micro plastics, and along with all industrial chemicals which have drained into the ocean these form a potentially toxic combination.
At The Bell, we are committed to reducing our carbon footprint and continue to make further steps in order to reduce our use of plastic and chemicals.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Big thanks to Ness and Sean. The buffet was good, the private function room/garden was lovely , and the access and assistance beforehand setting up was excellent. Just need to find an excuse for another party now !!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank David041268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellOwner, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Absolutely - there's always an excuse for a party!

Thank you so much for choosing The Bell and for your comments - this is what we do and we are so glad that you like it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews