We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

The Hussar Grill Steenberg
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Tokai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$36
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in Steenberg Village, adjacent to the prestigious Steenberg Golf Estate, Hussar Grill Constantia is somewhat reminiscent of an English gentleman's club. You'll feel like you've stepped into a Charles Dickens novel - complete with a library corner, mahogany wood-paneling and leather upholstery. Indulge in a perfectly aged steak and a glass of fine red wine, before retiring at the bar with a cognac.
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We were 6 guests
T-bone to die for
All meals excellent with a large selection
Cheesecake topped off the evening

Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Good day Keith,

I ma so pleased to hear about your experience.

We value you support and hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

It does what it says on the title. Very very good steak and at a very reasonable price. Excellent service and in a relaxed friendly atmosphere. Thank you

Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good day Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We value your support and I am very pleased to hear about your experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Excellent steak, succulent and cooked perfectly. Fillet cooked blue - amazing. Good feedback from the pork belly and sirloin lovers. Could improve the crackling on the pork belly though. Should be crunchy not chewy. Generous portions of sauce. Mushroom was a hit as well as the Madagascan peppercorn. Crispy chips, golden onion rings and the best oven roasted veg I have had for a long while. The panna cotta was perfectly wobbly and got the thumbs up. Wine list is pretty good too. Good coffee, excellent service and we were not rushed to leave - all great positive's for a return very soon. Perhaps to try the chocolate and orange mousse????

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cillab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear cillab1,

Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our Constantia steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our finest quality steaks and service. We do hope to serve you again.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Wow, Wowww, Wowwwwww ! My wife and I had yet another fabulous lunch here. The steaks here are just out of this world. I can honestly say that this restaurant has the very best steaks that I have ever eaten. My wife and I will definitely be eating here again before we leave SA and next time we'll have malva pudding for dessert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TourGuide-KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear TourGuide-KEVIN,

Thank you for your review of our Constantia grill room.

We are delighted to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a quiet table for 2 well in advance, but when we arrived on the night, they said they will see what they could find - not the best start. We were seated within 5 minutes in a quiet corner table, and thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary olives and potato skins provided. Our BYO wine (22 years old) had a sticky cork, but they found a filter and decanted it for us at the table. The medium rare Chateaubriand was bordering on medium - but was still juicy enough to be enjoyed. Service was prompt and efficient.

Thank TAJagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear TAJagain,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Constantia steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We apologise for the little hiccup however, we are delighted to hear that the steaks were cooked to perfection. We do hope to serve you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Steenberg also viewed

 

Been to The Hussar Grill Steenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing