We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful week at Heron Ghyll”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ghyll, Buckden

The Ghyll cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Ghyll cottages
Across rear garden to cottages & hills beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Ghyll cottages
Across rear garden to cottages & hills beyond
D/st. double bedroom from en suite bathroom
D/st. bedroom as a twin room
D/st. en suite bathroom with spa bath
Up/st. bathroom
Up/st. twin bedroom
View towards Buckden Pike from up/st. bedroom
Buckden, Upper Wharfedale, below Buckden Pike
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Buckden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
dianagrif...
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at Heron Ghyll”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We chose Heron Ghyll as it offered three bedrooms and two bathrooms - ideal for two couples and one other. It is in a great position in the lovely village of Buckden and a perfect base for all the wonderful walks in the area. The property is immaculately kept with a well equipped (and I believe recently reburbished) kitchen. Milk and eggs are delivered to your door but the village stores is a very short walk away for other essentials There is a nice, friendly pub close by and also a couple of good tea rooms. I would definitely recommend this for a lovely holiday.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Dear Diana
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a Review - and one so full of positives, to the benefit of others. Coinciding with your comments came an email from VisitEngland, giving us the results of their latest annual Inspections - both 'Dalegarth' cottage and 'Heron Ghyll' (your recent 'home') were given "4 Stars, Gold Award" ... or, as the Inspector said "a 5 Star 4 Star". We were thrilled.
Warm regards, David and Susan Lusted
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiepatt...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for wheelchair users”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Our stay in Swallow Gyll was excellent. As my mum users a wheelchair its always difficult to know whether your accommodation will meet her needs. I needed have worried! From the ground floor bedroom with en-suite wheel in shower and wc with hand rails, to small details like the bell and chair risers. It was ideal. The garden was also a lovely addition surrounded by stunning views. We were greeted by friendly and welcoming owners, who were attentive and helpful and saw to our every need. The village is small but extremely beautiful and the food at the local pub The Buck Inn was really good too. Lots to explore in the area. We will ne back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
What a positive Review! We are so grateful that you have taken the time to share your experience with others - and ourselves! - and are delighted to know that all went well, especially for your mother. The fact that we can look forward to another visit from you means a great deal to us and we hope it will give added confidence to others who read your comments. Our warm regards, David & Susan Lusted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine G
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities at Swallow Ghyll”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Swallow Ghyll has excellent facilities for those who are disabled or just a little infirm. The downstairs bedroom and en-suite wet room provide safe and easy access giving peace of mind to all on holiday. The whole cottage has been beautifully furnished and it is very clean and cosy. Beds are very comfortable. Thank you to our hosts who were attentive and on hand if needed.

A trip to the George Inn at Hubberholme is recommended. Friendly staff gave us a warm welcome, again watching out for the infirm, and you must have the steak and ale pie.
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: facilites for disabled and location
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for sending TripAdvisor a Review of 'Swallow Ghyll', all the more so considering you left only yesterday! As holiday providers, we take the provision of our accommodation very seriously and we are truly grateful to know that the cottage met your requirements, both giving you the confidence to relax and enjoy the spectacular Dales that surround us, but also the willingness to share that confidence with others. We hope they will be reassured by your views and tempted to try out the cottage for themselves. A most sincere "Thank you". David & Susan Lusted, 'Dalegarth & The Ghyll', Buckden, North Yorkshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marian r
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“this property made a holiday 'possible'”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

the help we got prior to arriving from david and susan lusted was invaluable.milk,eggs,groceries all in the cottage when we arrived.without the wetroom , bedroom, lounge and kitchen all on one level, we couldnt have had the holiday. the 'wetroom' was a must, so thank you for that. the cottage was so clean, bed linen spotless and the quality appreciated. our car could be parked close to the entrance to the cottage, again this made life very easy for all. we had fabulous food in the local, the buckden inn. the staff there were lovely and so friendly, they accommodated us in a very dignified way. again the ramp and double door entrance, room around tables made meals a pleasure and happy occasion. THANK YOU to 'the ghyll'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: property-wetroom-easy access-area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your Review. We do appreciate your positive and kind comments - as much for ourselves as for those seeking the views of guests having first-hand experience of the cottage. We're sure others will gain confidence from your opinions. As we said on your departure, "au revoir" - for we hope to see you back here at The Ghyll one day. Warm regards from us both. David and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation in Wharfedale”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Dipper Cottage one of three cottages at The Ghyll.
This is a genuine disable fit cottage. Entrance and ground floor access flat and wheelchair friendly. Proper disabled wet room with appropriate grab rails. Top floor excellent for carers with masses of storage. Cottage very well equipped with domestic items and spotlessly clean. Broadband very good and essential as no mobile phone signal in cottage. Phones in cottage have intercom system which is perfect for night assistance calls to carers. Nice welcome messages and items left for guests providing a personal touch. Disabled notebook completed by previous residents very useful. A perfect cottage in an idyllic setting. David Lusted was extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. Would highly recommend to anyone disabled or not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small road and arch access to property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
My wife and I really appreciate the fact that you have compiled this Review, after your recent stay. You were kind enough to highlight many practical features of the cottage, along with some personal praise! We are so grateful, particularly since we know these comments are found to be so helpful to others. Naturally, we very much hope to welcome you back one day. Yours sincerely, David and Susan Lusted
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;