We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best cottages in Wharfedale”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dalegarth, Buckden

'Dalegarth', Buckden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Dalegarth', Buckden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
'Dalegarth', Buckden
'Dalegarth' kitchen
'Dalegarth' house bathroom (incl. sauna room)
'Dalegarth' view of Upper Wharfedale from balcony
'Dalegarth' up-Dale balcony view in winter
'Buckden', Upper Wharfedale, below Buckden Pike
Wharfedale Hay Meadows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Buckden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
W_BerksWa...
W. Berks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best cottages in Wharfedale”
Reviewed 12 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010
5
people found this review helpful

Our 6th visit and it only gets better! The cottages are very well equipped especially the kitchens. We cannot understand one comment about the kitchens being of poor quality. Our experience would say the opposite. The cottages facing the Wharfe have balconies & it is lovely to sit out & enjoy the views, the sheep & the many birds that visit. (Cost us a fortune in bird food!!) The good sized pool & sauna are great after a long hot walk over to Littondale. It is possible to do different walks all week without using the car & occasionally using the bus. David & Susan continue to be the most friendly & helpful owners that we have met.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review - and for the time and trouble in sending it. Sadly, we no-longer have the pool but we have installed telephones and wi-fi connections into the cottages and will always strive to maintain and improve standards of accommodation. Good news! The Buck Inn has new landlords - it is clean, bright and welcoming once more. We do hope that we can tempt you to return and can only add a sincere 'Au revoir!' Susan and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangetee
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A jewel in the crown”
Reviewed 3 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010
6
people found this review helpful

Discovered Dalegarth and The Ghyll holiday cottages almost 15 years ago (stayed in hotels previously) have never looked back, from welcome to location, accomodation, facility,s...comfort, it is a truly, a gem.....having read visitors book, once discovered this is a place people return to year after year, the cottages them selves, are amongst some of the most fabulous inn,s which serve excellent food....it is a walkers "dream", having just returned, i am already planning next visit...........Winter Spring Summer Autumn , seasons change , having visited Dalegarth many times over the last 15 years their standards havn,t still excellent.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2012
What can we say but a very sincere "Thank you" for your most generous comments. It is always welcoming to receive a pat on the back but we find your review so encouraging and are most grateful; we'll try to live up to your expectations in the future. Our warm regards - and blushes! Susan and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayesTrip...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Holiday cottages in the middle of the Dales”
Reviewed 12 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Dalegarth ( and the smaller group of the Ghyll cottages, which are the disabled-friendly units at the back of the village a little walk from the others) is a group of cottages in Buckden, which is in the middle of the Yorkshire Dales. The location is good if you wish to do walking, relaxation or visit local attractions, but does mean a long daily drive just to get to main roads if you want to go further afield! Should point out there is no mobile signal on any network in the area.
The owners are extremely helpful and friendly, and live on site. The cottages is fairly well appointed, though with rather dated decor. The kitchen and bathrooms have been recently replaced (2 more cottage bathrooms were being renovated whilst we were there), but the kitchen units did seem rather cheap as no less than 3 bits fell off the units during the stay!
There's a small, but very usable pool onsite, but obviously hadn't been used for a while.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2012
We are always grateful that Guests should take time and trouble to write a Review. Sadly, it is only now that we have been able to respond. Two quick comments: the German-built kitchen had a weakness with the base plinths - quickly attended to - and, sadly, the pool is no more! This last point is personaly much lamented since I had recorded well over 1000 miles of happy exercise! We maintain a constant programme of renewal and innovation and hope that one day you might be tempted to return and sample the delights of the Dales. Inevitably, at the heart of the Dales National Park, roads are small and winding - but that is usually anticipated by Guests who come, as you say, for the wonderful walking that the region is justly famous for. Call and see us on a change-over day or, better still, grab your boots and come for a walking holiday. A warm welcome is always guaranteed. David and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFPANDDWP
Cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our idea of heaven”
Reviewed 17 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010
5
people found this review helpful

The accommodation at Dalegarth is in a wonderful location and excellently presented - well furnished and beautifully clean. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners David and Susan, who have over the years established a hugely successful business. This is the second time we have hired their cottages and the standard was even better this time round.

Would strongly recommend these cottages for anyone considering a holiday in Wharfedale.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2012
Firstly, a most sincere "thank you" for taking both time and trouble to submit a Review. Your comments were very generous; we regard personal recommendations as being extremely valuable - indeed we use them ourselves to gauge likely holidays - and so we do appreciate your assessments. The village has figured in both series 1 and 2 of 'The Dales' (itv) recently - we hope you saw them and that it revived your interest in returning. Our very warm regards. 'Au revoir!' David and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trindon
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heavenly relaxation”
Reviewed 5 April 2009 for a stay in October 2008
4
people found this review helpful

Our family has stayed at Dalegarth several times over the last seven years and its just gets better. The cottages are comfortably furnished and the views stunning. I just love the kitchens and the lounge furniture (seating) has recently been replaced which is a great improvement for comfort. Everywhere is always spotlessly clean. My husband thinks Dalegarth is his favourite place for relaxing. In good weather the location is brilliant - no need to move the car all wek if you enjoy walking as there are good walks on the doorstep. Its a stones throw away from the pub and the Westwinds Tea Shop is to be recommended. I can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2012
We do thank you most sincerely for your kind words. Holidays are precious times, especially for families, and we are delighted to think that we have contributed in some way to the happy times that you have enjoyed here in the Dales. We send our warmest good wishes and trust that we might tempt you back in the future. Susan and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing