We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunny seaside Fun”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
We welcome all our guests with a welcome tray including fresh scones and homemade jam
The Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway is one of many possibilities for a lovely family day out.
Church Square in Rye, 3 miles away, is an interesting place to explore.
Mermaid Street in Rye, one of the prettiest streets in the UK.
Bodiam Castle owned by the National Trust is just 30 minutes drive away.
Rye, just 3 miles away, has many ancient buildings and is a joy to explore.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness, a fascinating place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
451Kate
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunny seaside Fun”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a great week at the Salty Dog with our 2 teenagers , one of their friends and our dog Lewis.. The house worked very well for us and the manager and owner are extremely helpful and enthusiastic. The sun shone so each day involved time on the beach. One part of the beach is clearly for dogs and Lewis had the time of his life swimming and digging! We visited Rye a couple of times as well as Battle and Winchelsea and made good use of the Farm Shop which sold delicious home made produce.
We hope to return next year!

Kate and David

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Dog friendly but stairgates mean bedrooms are dog free
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
We are so pleased you had a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at the salty dog”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family have just enjoyed the perfect week at the salty dog camber.From the moment we arrived we were greeted by John who showed us around the property and informed us tea and scones and home made jam were waiting for us.This was very much appreciated after a 3 and 1/2 hour drive. The cottage was beautifully clean and well equipped.The garden is in the sun all day,which also has a BBQ.There was no evidence of any dogs in the property even though it is dog friendly.The cleaner does a very good job. The beds are very comfortable and the bed linen clean and fresh.Carol the owner is so kind and helpful.nothing is to much trouble,and any emails or texts are always answered promptly.The beach is just a short walk away,and perfect for dogs.We are already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everythin
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2013
We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally R
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect get away.....”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Stayed here in September 2012... 5 girls and there dogs.. From the moment we were greeted by the owners representative we felt welcome. Scones and Jam and a doggie bag of goodies for the dogs. The house had everything we could have wished for and 3 minute walk from one of the fantastic beaches in England. House very clean, bed linen fab, everything you could possible think of was there. We had a fantastic time and have re-booked for September this year.... Well worth a stay if you want a well equipped house that lets you take your best friends 2 and 4 legged with you..... Highly recommend this little gem of a find. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkcryst...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday beautiful house lovely beach”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I wonderful house with every thing you need. super clean. so family friendly. I came home and book to more holidays for this year :)
The is a lovely play room for the kids and a garden with all the toys you can think of.
Fantastic :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and homely feel
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances18...
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for families”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The Salty Dog is a real home from home. We were met by John, who was very friendly and helpful showing us around and giving us some local knowledge. There was plently of room for 6 adults, a 19 month toddler and a 7 week old baby. As promised all required items were provided and in excellent condition.
The welcome tray was a lovely touch and the homemade jam very tasty!
Although this is a dog friendly let, we would never have known as there was no doggy smell or hairs. If going out of season it may be advisable to check places are open, this didn't cause us a problem though. We didn't have great weather but even so the area is lovely and we will be looking to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just like home
Liked least: We didn't have a long enough stay!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$304
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing