We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Mother's Day weekend at Rock Lobster”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
We aim to make holidaying with children as stress-free as possible.
Rock Lobster is located on the award winning Whitesand development at Camber Sands.
We are proud of our 4* Gold Award from Enjoy England.
We welcome dogs as Rock Lobster.
Church Square in Rye, a picture perfect ancient town just 3 miles away.
Ypres Castle in Rye, one of many attractions within a few miles of Rock Lobster.
Mermaid Street in Rye (3 miles away) is one of the prettiest cobbled streets in the UK.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness.
Dungeness a baron landscape but a great place to explore - much loved by photographers and artists.
Bodiam Castle, one of many National Trust properties within a short drive of Camber Sands.
The 'little train' - The Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway - a great family day out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rogfaldo
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Mother's Day weekend at Rock Lobster”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I booked a weekend away at Rock Lobster as a Mother's Day weekend treat for my wife and our 2 young children (4 mth old and 3 yr old) and from the time I booked to the time we left (and beyond), the whole experience was fantastic.

After I booked the trip around 3 weeks before our booking, the owner contacted me with further information regarding the accommodation and loads more useful info regarding the surrounding area - the letter from 'Daisy the dog' to our little boy was a really nice touch!

The directions to the cottage were very useful and we were met by the housekeeper who was extremely helpful and showed us around. The Rock Lobster cottage is beautifully kept and has pretty much everything we needed for a toddler and a young baby - which meant we only had to take one car! (The only thing we couldn't find was a changing mat) - For those without children don't worry the child-useful items aren't in your face, one of the beauties with this place is that there is plenty of storage and everything has a home. Bedrooms are a lovely size and we could have had the cot in either room.

Camber Sands has a beautiful beach which we would love to sample again in the summer. We had breakfast at the Camber cafe which was really lovely and good value. We also spent a day at Drusillas which I would definitely recommend to those with young children - it's about 1hr 15 mins away but thoroughly worth it.

We were sorry to leave Rock Lobster and the whole experience was great (we even received our security deposit back promptly) - the owners have obviously put a lot of thought into this holiday let and we're soooo pleased that we found out about it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The efficiency of the whole experience and accomodation
Liked least: The WiFi was a little unrealiable
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased you found Rock Lobster to be well equipped and comfortable for both you and your little ones and enjoyed your visit to Drusillas. We are so fortunate to have so many family attractions in the area, Drusillas is always popular with pre-schoolers.

A new changing mat will be purchased - it must have taken a walk unnoticed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roxstar83
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We loved staying at Rock Lobster. I travelled with my husband, our 14 month old and our dog. The cottage is tastefully decorated and has everything you might need for a short or extended stay. It is very child-friendly with plenty of equipment for babies and toys, books etc. The location is fantastic for walking to the beach or restaurants and is only a short drive to the pretty town of Rye. This is our second time staying at Rock Lobster and we would not hesitate to do so again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern decor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We aim to make our holiday cottages as child friendly as possible without compromising the comfort for adults. We are pleased you're little one enjoyed the toys etc. provided. We look forward to welcoming you all again in the future. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJ1980_12
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday cottage!”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for three nights with our 7 month old son. Right from the booking to arriving at the house everything was very easy and straight forward. The owner welcomes children and babies so the house is very well equipped meaning you don't have to cart all the baby paraphernalia with you.

You are welcomed with homemade scones and jam, milk, tea and coffee and the staff that meet you at the house are very friendly and knowledgeable. I even had a text from the owner the day after we arrived just to make sure everything was ok, a very nice touch.

The house is immaculate and very comfortable so it felt like a home from home and an ideal base to explore the surrounding area.

We are already planning our next stay - perhaps when we can explore the sand dunes without gale force winds :-)

A very relaxing break indeed- thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds were sooo comfortable!
Liked least: Everything was perfect :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
I'm pleased you had a good time despite the windy weather! We have tried to make everything as easy as possible for parents of little ones and are pleased you found everything you needed. We have been on many self catering holidays over the years and have used our experiences to help us give our guests the best holiday we can. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilling after Christmas - perfect spot!”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We wanted some time out after busy Christmas period and so booked Rock Lobster cottage from Boxing Day for 3 days.
The cottage was lovely, clean and everything that you could possibly need had been provided...not just for us but for our dogs too! A secure and fenced garden was an added bonus for the dogs.
The rooms were bright, warm and welcoming and the kitchen had a little basket of treats...just in case we hadn't eaten enough over Christmas!
The beach is a 5 minute walk away and we enjoyed our early morning strolls when the tide was out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
We are pleased you enjoyed your time at Rock Lobster. Chloe,, our Springer, has fully tested the security of the garden, it makes those early morning and late night calls more convivial for us humans not having to take our dogs out on leads!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellagz
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a relaxing stay at Rock Lobster . What a lovely place , cosy and comfortable , and dog friendly . Beds and settee excellent quality , it's obvious a lot of care and attention has been taken . Great location , very quiet, short walk to the beach , which our two dogs enjoyed...local pub very welcoming. The walk into Rye is well worth it, it really is a lovely place for a holiday or short break.
Carol is lovely to deal with, from booking and all the way through , would highly recommend this cottage, we are looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt homely
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you Dawn. We are so fortunate in our location so close to such a wonderful beach. The Green Owl pub is also great asset and the ideal place for a sundowner after a walk on the sands. The food there is excellent too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing