We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
We aim to make holidaying with children as stress-free as possible.
Rock Lobster is located on the award winning Whitesand development at Camber Sands.
We are proud of our 4* Gold Award from Enjoy England.
We welcome dogs as Rock Lobster.
Church Square in Rye, a picture perfect ancient town just 3 miles away.
Ypres Castle in Rye, one of many attractions within a few miles of Rock Lobster.
Mermaid Street in Rye (3 miles away) is one of the prettiest cobbled streets in the UK.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness.
Dungeness a baron landscape but a great place to explore - much loved by photographers and artists.
Bodiam Castle, one of many National Trust properties within a short drive of Camber Sands.
The 'little train' - The Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway - a great family day out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Linda D
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful cottage in Camber Sands. Just a few minutes walk from sandy beaches and beautiful sand dunes. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you would need, including a very useful outside hose for sandy dogs! It is really good to find such a welcoming cottage which is also very dog friendly. A real home from home and very delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very dog friendly
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
I'm pleased you found the cottage well equipped and very dog friendly. We strive to make the cottage as comfortable for those with and without dogs and ensure all traces of "dog" are removed through extra deep cleaning after a dog has stayed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmurphy24...
Biggin Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful first time stay at Rock Lobster. Perfect cottage, very comfortable,warm,cosy,clean. Excellent location to visit interesting areas close by.
Couldn't recommend it highly enough. The little extra touches too, the GORGEOUS scones, FABULOUS jam,milk dog treats...very welcome. We sincerely hope to go back. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: we loved everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. People are often surprised by how much there is to do and see in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol w
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful break with home from home comforts”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

excellent-- very clean comfortable house and ideal for dogs too, very well equipped in kitchen and other rooms. our two dogs settled straight away and safe enclosed garden too. enjoyed the patio furniture.

Great facilities and nice touches with 'Welcome tray' and soaps etc

Very convenient for walks on the beach and an excellent base if attending a wedding at the Gallivant!
Rye is lovely and not far and Dungeness interesting and easy drives to both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the easy layout with garden straight out the back and comfortable accomadation
Liked least: found opening the fridge a bit tricky but obviously hadn't the knack!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The location of the cottage is ideal for The Gallivant and a wedding on the beach is something special. We hope to welcome you and your dogs back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew E
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Property in a great location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Rock Lobster, very much enjoying both the quality of the cottage and the location. The accommodation is furnished and maintained to a very high standard - it's like staying at a friend's house, and has been setup with a very great deal of care to cater to anyone, from young families upwards. It's a new property on a new estate, located at the right side of Camber Sands for those with a beach interest (we got the most out of the ability to get to the beach in 5 minutes) and if the weather's not up to it (it's England after all) the entertainments in the cottage will keep you amused too. If you can, bring bikes - there's a great (mostly) off-road cycle path into Rye, and another good one out to Lydd too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail on the property, really made us feel at home
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
We are so pleased you had a wonderful holiday at Camber Sands. The traffic free cycle paths really do add another dimension to a family holiday, there is plenty of room to store bikes securely in the shed at Rock Lobster too. There are also a lot of cycle rides around the Romney Marshes and the local area on quiet and virtually traffic free lanes. We enjoy cycling ourselves and are happy to give advice and route suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uberkim
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely house, thoughtfully furnished, in perfect location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We very much enjoyed our last-minute short break here in June. The house has been very thoughtfully and tastefully furnished with everything you might need and nothing that you don't. I have already recommended it to family and friends with small children. Lovely quiet location and well placed not only for the beautiful beach, but also for exploring Rye, Dungeness and the Romney Marsh generally.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for recommending us to your friends. We have tried to make our cottages wonderful spaces in which to relax both for couples and families. Guests with young children and babies particularly find all the paraphernalia and safe enviroment we provide for little ones a great help and it leaves more space in the car for other things.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$196
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing