We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Half Moon Cottage - the Perfect Holiday Escape!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Half Moon Cottage

Half Moon Camber Sands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Half Moon Camber Sands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Half Moon Camber Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
138susie
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Half Moon Cottage - the Perfect Holiday Escape!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Half Moon Cottage is a stunning little home superbly located for lazy days on the vast sandy beach nearby. We have had the most amazing time staying there!
The cottage and garden is so pretty and abundant in comforts but also really practical! Every detail has been thought of to make your stay easy and relaxed. From a pit fire to roast marshmallows to a low swinging hammock to daydream on, sumptuous duvets and throws, a full book case of holiday reads, and a well-equipped BBQ and kitchen!!
The beautiful Camber Sands are a 5 minute walk away, whilst the local town, Rye, has the most amazing food offerings - we followed nearly all of Richard's and Sophie's recommendations and they were spot on every time! We had a delicious scallop lunch at The Standard, the cleanest & tastiest fish and chips at Marino's, crisp English wine at Chapel Down Winery and very sweet hot chocolates at Knoops! Another great place is Rye Bay Fish, who have the freshest and tastiest fish on sale every day - and are really friendly and helpful!
On arrival there was a lovely welcome pack, and Richard and Sophie were on hand whenever we had questions or queries. We came away feeling really refreshed - and are looking forward to when we can visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for this amazing review of your stay with us at Half Moon. We are really pleased you loved the cottage and the surrounding area. Rye really is a fantastic foodie town and we are also very lucky to have some of the countries top vineyards nearby. Hope to see you back again soon.
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage - so handy for the beach”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous time at Half Moon Cottage. What a lovely place, comfy, welcoming and beautifully appointed. The cottage is a only a few minutes walk from the fantastic camber beaches. And it's a short trip into Rye where we sampled some delicious local scallops & found some very welcoming hostelries. We certainly hope to return as soon as possible!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Half Moon. We look forward to your return soon.
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m0bsy
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house!”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were a group of girls staying for a short weekend hoping to escape from London life. This house was absolutely perfect for what we wanted. The house itself was really pretty, felt very homely and was very tidy. We were given a lovely welcome pack which was really appreciated. The house is in an excellent location close to the beach and there was a helpful information booklet for the local area and things to do.
Thanks so much!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you for the review. Half Moon is the perfect bolthole away from the hustle and bustle of London, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming back. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of house outside and in + location to the beach
Liked least: Only one issue -downstairs cloakroom had a permanent smell similar to tobacco which was unpleasant.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for the glowing review! There is nothing quite like reviving your senses with a brisk, invigorating walk in the crisp winter air, followed by an afternoon warming your toes in front of an open fire in an historic oak-beamed pub. Half Moon is the perfect base to explore the fab beach just a short stroll away and the incredible array of historic places that surround this corner of the country. Hope to see you back again for some more winter sun! Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sarah t
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had an amazing stay in this cottage with our 3 children 12,11 and 8. Situated 5 minutes walk from the beach and a quick drive to Rye we had everything on the doorstep. The cottage is exceptionally clean and has everything you need. A washer and dryer are really handy and a great sized fridge. There is a fantastic hammock in the garden for everyone to rush too and a very large shed to store bikes and beach gear. Parking is very easy and a back gate means no carrying through the house and easy unpacking of the car. We ate out a lot as Rye has amazing pubs,restaurants and even a cinema. Everywhere let us take our dog which meant we had a true family holiday. Wifi was fine for us and husband managed to keep up with work daily with no complaints.
We have always gone to Cornwall and loved the seaside but after staying in this lovely cottage and on this beach we will be back. You really don't have to go in the car at all but Kent is also very near and we did go on a day trip to Bovey Castle which was fantastic. Our children have had a fantastic week and so have we. Rye is so worth a visit and they have some beautiful shops.Thank you for letting us stay in your cottage it is truly great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How close to London and such a beautiful cottage and walking distance to the beach and so close to a beautiful town.
Liked least: only one Hammock
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for the great review. It was lovely to meet you on the beach and hear about this cracking cottage you was staying in! Hopefully this stay has persuaded you to drop Cornwall for Camber! Look forward to seeing you back at Half Moon very soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing