We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous on all Counts!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Breakwater Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
263jeanne
Woodstock, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous on all Counts!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Such a nice, nice experience. The cottage itself is lovely, clean, bright, and perfect for a small group. The back garden is enclosed, so the kids can play without worry. There were plenty of nice dishes, pots and pans. The managers, Richard and Sophie, couldn't have been nicer! They stopped by to welcome us, and to wish us a good trip home. If we needed anything like toilet paper, batteries, or directions, they helped us graciously! Go to the town of Sedlescombe, about 30 minutes away, to the Queen's Head pub. Best food we've had in England!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look and feel of the place! So welcoming.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for the lovely review of your stay at Breakwater. It was great to meet you. Will pass on your regards to The Queens Head as I am sure they will be thrilled with your comment!

Hopefully we will see you back again next year.

Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah M
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect get away retreat with all the home comforts”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is our second time staying at this property, and as per the last time we had a great experience and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Breakwater Cottage. With four adults and three small children, we needed the space to play and get away from the noise (!) which this property offered and being so close to the beach was an added bonus! We found everything we needed in the house, and it was perfectly equipped for those with young children. The garden was safe and secure for them to play around in, even if it was a bit chilly outside! We will definitely be back again. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location, it's size and the cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for posting this lovely review, we look forward to having you all back again next year! Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jl1234201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic treat for the whole family”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I booked this as a surprise weekend for the whole family. The house really exceeded my expectations. It was homely and had everything you needed eg kitchen equipment, outdoor furniture to enjoy the garden, bed linen etc. it is modern yet very homely and there is a little guidebook which gives you handy information about the area. The house was spotless when we arrived and we were so pleased with the space and garden area. It is also on a very attractive road which is only a few minutes walk to the sand dunes. I booked it as a surprise treat for my parents and they were absolutely overjoyed. We also made a visit to Chapel Down vineyard which is about 30 mins drive and had a great dinner at a local restaurant in Rye called the Landmark. What a fantastic weekend! Thanks so much to the owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for the fab review of Breakwater. The owners put a lot of thought into this property and will be over the moon with your feedback. Look forward to see you back again very soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA740
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We always book with "Beside the Sea Holidays" Richard and Sophie are excellent and they are always there if you need anything before during and after your stay, Breakwater is a lovely holiday cottage, its comfortable, spotlessly clean and all you need to bring are your clothes a the cottage provides everything, just a short walk away and you have the lovely camber beach. Its our second stay at breakwater but we will be back as we have been on holiday with Beside the Sea 5 times now as we love it so much, the bedrooms are cosy and comfortable and the garden is great to sit out and chill. Kitchen has everything you need all in all its a great holiday with hopefully great weather.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for the amazing review of your 5th stay with us! It was lovely to see you all. Hope to see you back at Breakwater next year for your 6th holiday! Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarby99
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home from home (again!)”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This stay is the second we have had this year with Beside the Sea and at a property in 'Whitesands' at Camber.

Each property stands out for different reasons but overall they are good quality, well equipped and are maintained at a very high level.

The 3 bed semi was more than enough space for us. We were very lucky with weather and were out everyday. The one day we did satay at home was like being at home! Functionally everything worked and we didn't even have to think much about living at Breakwater.

The part that makes this stay different from your average holiday cottage let is 'Beside the Seaside' and more specially Sophie and Richard. Nothing is too much for them and for someone (like me) who is a fussy so and so they deal with the most minute detail, query or question imeadiately. I've said it in my other reviews but these guys are the best and if you are thinking of ever letting out your property as a holiday let then these guys are the winning formula.

We have booked two more stays for the year and at Christmas.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely review and are pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us, this time at Breakwater. We like to be able to offer our guests a better experience than they would receive from a faceless agency or an owner that lives miles away, so your glowing comments are very much appreciated! Look forward to seeing you back at Christmas. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing