We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best ever welcome hamper”

Review of Marsh View Cottage

The master bedroom has bath robes,slippers,mini toiletries,tv/dvd combo included
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The master bedroom has bath robes,slippers,mini toiletries,tv/dvd combo included
Marsh View Cottage, Camber Sands,a short stroll from the dunes/sandy beach & has rural views to rear The beach is just a short stroll from Marsh View Cottage in Camber Sands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
The master bedroom has bath robes,slippers,mini toiletries,tv/dvd combo included
Marsh View Cottage, Camber Sands,a short stroll from the dunes/sandy beach & has rural views to rear
The beach is just a short stroll from Marsh View Cottage in Camber Sands
The dunes and beach a short walk from Marsh View Cottage, Camber Sands
A vast sandy beach on the doorstep
The vast sandy beach a short walk from Marsh View Cottage, Camber Sands
The well equipped open plan kitchen has views across the sheep studded marshes.Separate utility area
The twin bedroom has uninterrupted views over the sheep studded Romney Marshes
Family bathroom with shower over
In the master bedroom there are fluffy bath towels,bath robes, slippers and mini sea kelp toiletries
Garden views - & the sand dunes & beach are only a short stroll away to the front
One of our welcome baskets. Contents vary
The chocolate box pretty,ancient town of Rye just 3 miles from Marsh View Cottage,Camber Sands
The picturesque, ancient town of Rye, 3 miles away, is steeped in history
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma W
1 review
“Best ever welcome hamper”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This cottage is small but very well equipped and spotlessly clean. We were a family of 4 with 2 dogs. It has everything you could possibly need and things you would not have imagined, a wealth of kids DVD's kept the kids entertained so we were never rushed by them. Beautiful views over the marshes, just 5 mins walk to a magnificent sandy beach. Best thing ever was the welcome hamper, for the first time ever we did not need to shop on arrival. There was everything you could possibly want laid on so the first breakfast was fully catered. We all loved this property and would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie D
West Molesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place, great sand,great facilities”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just a big thank you for the superb cottage, facilities- a -plenty, goodie basket for us and dog fab.So clean and comfy.
I would just say it doesn't matter what time of year or weather you will just enjoy.
Handy local pub and Rye fantastic with a hidden treasure, 'The Globe' which had the most amazing food, wine and dog welcome!
Looking forward to a return visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle W
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exceptional cottage providing a truly luxurious and relaxing break - everything you could wish for and more!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Having read many of the 5* reviews we had high hopes for our short break at Marsh View...and we were definitely not disappointed. There are many lessons to be learnt from Tony & Sue about how to make your guests feel welcome and special and ensure a relaxing break. Every detail is thought of - the legendary welcome hamper had delicious hand baked goodies and other luxury items as well as the provisions in the fridge (including wine!) ensuring that even if you arrive late evening as we did, you can rest knowing you have everything you need for a lazy breakfast, brunch or even lunch! Even Benji our puppy was catered for with a delicious bag of liver cake treats as well as a bone.

The extra touches such as the lovely toiletries, bathrobes, slippers and even shower caps, combs, sewing kits are what you would expect of a high quality hotel and the addition of these to a self-catering cottage in our opinion sets the bar way above the competition. But the touches don't stop there - with a cupboard stocked with everything you could possibly need - umbrellas, beach bag and towels, high chair, stair gates, first aid kit, even a safe and a selfie stick, the latest DVDs, a Wii and everything you need for a rainy day!! And that's not to mention the shed and barbeque!!

The cottage was spotlessly clean (which for someone who is a bit OCD about these things was a huge plus), beautifully decorated with lovely touches everywhere you look. The view across the marsh and the sheep was a lovely view to wake up to but we loved the less than 5 minute walk to the beach - very steep dunes not for the faint hearted but perfect for a 10 year old and the puppy to burn off plenty of energy!! We were blessed with lovely weather if a little chilly but enjoyed the cafe on the beach whilst the boys played!

The Owl was a friendly welcome for Mother's Day lunch with nothing too much for the hosts. Rye (and Simply Italian) are not to be missed. The wealth of information in the cottage on dog friendly eateries was very welcome as were the takeaway menus!!

All in all we commend Tony & Sue for their amazing attention to detail and we are definitely going back - we are currently selecting dates for our next weekend away. This is a gem of a holiday cottage and you would be mad not to try it out!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hamper and all the extra touches
Liked least: Having to go home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. It genuinely pleases us that our guests enjoy their stay so much and makes all our hard work worthwhile when we know our guests have such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna H
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marsh view cottage”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a lovely cottage , clean and very welcoming . The little extra touches made our weekend break that extra special , from the delightful hamper ( which contained the most amazing locally made lemon drizzle cake ) To the soft dressing gowns and slippers , everything was provided for , bikes in the shed ,( which were not used this time ) , fire pit and bbq .
Beautiful place to stay , ideal base to explore the surrounding country side of East Sussex .
Would definitely recommend and will use again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches
Liked least: The British weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
643Katie
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful week.”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I had seen all the previous reviews so I knew we wouldn't be disappointed but it really did exceed all expectations.
It was fabulously clean, if I didn't know better I'd have thought we were the first people to stay there!
The welcome basket was full of yummy treats for us and the dog and all the added little extras (toiletries/slippers/lovely smelling towels and bath robes to name but a few) really did make us feel special.
The house was so well equipped, better than our own house! Everything has been thought of. The DVD collection is very current and there was an ipod docking station which I loved.
We had our ten month old son with us and even he was well catered for with a travel cot/stair gate/high chair and plates bowls and cutlery all suitable for his age.
Camber beach was fabulous. Our dog loved it and even though it was November we wore t shirts on a couple of days.
The view out over the marsh was such a beautiful relaxing thing to wake up to I wish we were still there when I look out of my own window.
We walked into Rye which is just a beautiful town and went to a fee of the surrounding villages all of which were beautiful and full of lovely walks.
The only downside is my other half was proved right when he told me we didn't need to pack as much as we did (we had to buy a roof box!). It was literally all there we just needed our clothes.
I'm sad we didn't get to use the fire as it was so warm. Maybe next time...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We do try to think of everything and the autumn is a fantastic time of year to stay too.We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing