We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage in the perfect location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Light House

Light House Camber Sands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Light House Camber Sands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Light House Camber Sands
from door to dune in 3 mins
Enjoy sunset walks on our fantastic beach
Rye is a must visit during your stay!
Rye on the doorstep!
lots of great walkies!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Janikvo
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage in the perfect location. Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at The Light House. The cottage is delightful. Furnished and equipped to the highest standards and extremely spacious. Plenty of room for the six of us.Lovely comfortable lounge with a huge TV and games/dvd player .Super kitchen /dining room, which opens out onto the decked garden area, complete with fire pit. All very dog friendly , as completely and securely fenced all around. Lots of room for eating al fresco and BBQ's. South facing so a real sun trap.
Just a few minutes walk through the Link Way over the beach car park, up the most amazing dunes and you're on the glorious beach. Two miles long and so dog friendly. Kobi absolutely loved it, running up and down the dunes and then across the massive beach to have a paddle in the sea. Great sand for building Sand Castles too.
Rye is lovely and we visited regularly as great restaurants, Tea rooms and of course .... shops. It has a very quaint feel to it, with cobbled streets and castle towers. We hope to be heading back down for another stay at The Light House very soon. Thank you Richard for all your help and advice and info' and for making sure our stay was just perfect in every way.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a fantastic cottage,tastefully decorated and very well equipped.Fantastic location and only minuites from the most wonderful dog friendly beach.The cottage has a lovely modern decor and has been decorated to the highest standard with no expense spared.the lounge is comfortable with a fantastic tv.The kitchen/dinner has everything you need with a Hugh table and lots of seating.Bedrooms are lovely with crisp clean bedlinen.It has a beautiful decked garden which is fully enclosed so is great for dogs.I cannot fault this cottage and would highly recommend to anyone.I would also like to mention Richard Smith the owner of this property who has been so helpful.Richards customer service is outstanding.Emails are replied to promptly with any questions answered and extra information he thinks you might need.He is always available and always happy to help with any queries you may have.Thank you Richard.Cannot wait to return to your lovely cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinterWan...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This really was the perfect place to spend our weekend. Spacious, clean, warm. Though not looking onto the beach, it was less a mere 3 minute walk.

Tea, coffee and milk all supplied as well as complimentary wine, home made biscuits, cloudy apple juice and proper coffee. Wonderful. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms silent. So relaxing!

And finally a mention must go to Richard from Beside The Sea Holidays who went out of his way to make us a tailor made itinerary to ensure we made the most of our stay. Wonderful. Will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J
Baldock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Property in Perfect Location”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013

My partner took me to the light house to celebrate my birthday in November last year (2013). It was a wonderful weekend and we both wished we had of booked for longer.

The Light House is an amazing holiday home; it is suitable for adults and families and is especially suitable for those who wish to travel with a dog. When we arrived the accommodation was immaculately clean and tidy, it included all mod cons and was a very pleasurable base to enjoy the sights of Camber and nearby Rye.

The accommodation had a very useful information booklet which my partner and I enjoyed reading over breakfast before we set off to find some of the hidden gems mentioned in it in the centre of Rye.

All in all this accommodation was of the highest quality and made for a very enjoyable stay. We would certainly think about going back but would probably look to do this in the warmer months; saying that, the walk along the beach on the Sunday morning was the perfect way to refresh after the few wines enjoyed over dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Whole Weekend
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fantastic house”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the light house. The property had every gadget you could imagine, the iPod dock is amazing and we watched a few films on the huge tv. The fire is great, where did you get it from? We ate out most nights, thank you for the recommendations, loved the Tuscan kitchen. The beach is great and rye really lovely

Look forward to staying again, thank you for all your help

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing