We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect setting for a family break”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
188 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 188 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Colin-Bla...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect setting for a family break”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've just spent a delightful extended weekend with all the large family, in the 3 Dukes Farm cottages. The setting, the welcome, the hospitality, the comfort & cleanliness, the facilities, and the information - all faultless. We'll certainly be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic quiet location”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented all three cottages for a big family get together. My husband and I and our two daughters stayed in Swallow Barn, my brother, his wife and their daughter had The Granary, and my parents were in Goose Cotts. The standards in all three barns were very high - perfectly clean, all the kitchen equipment you could possibly need, comfortable beds and tons of space. The woodburners were all set ready to light when we arrived, but luckily, although the weather wasn't great for August, we never needed a fire!

The children had a wonderful time. The huge trampoline was a big hit, as was the games room, but their favourite thing was the field full of hay bales!

The views from the terrace are beautiful, and Ruth and Ken were really welcoming.

The lack of a mobile signal and the narrow roads were a little daunting for us city folk! It wouldn't stop us returning though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: No mobile signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family get-together”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I and our two daughters, with their husband and one grandson each in tow, were looking for the perfect place to meet up and have a pleasant and relaxing get-together. We found it in Swallow Barn. Cosy accommodation, wonderful views, good amenities and plenty to do. Although we travelled to Hay and Hereford and to the pub at Michaelchurch, we could have spent the whole time in and around Dukes Farm. Ruth and Ken were very welcoming and informative. We made much use of the games room and I left as the reigning table football champion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy bed.
Liked least: If I had to pick one thing that let down the overall effect it would be the condition of the other, un-restored barns - but it is a farm!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley C
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Experience - from start to end.”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in Goose Cotts which is for 2 people but is almost as big as our own bungalow!
A warm and friendly greeting from Ruth, and the log fire, on arrival and we were very much 'at home'. Equally Ruth and Ken were on hand to see us depart and it was like leaving one of your own family.
The views from around the farm are special, as the bird life is also. Magical countryside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laila W
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxe and unwind in this beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in all three cottages as we were attending a family wedding near by. The outside of the buildings are very rustic and conceal the most amazing interiors and views. We could not helped to be "wowed" when we walked into the barn. There is everything you could possibly need and more! The rooms were perfect for our needs from everyone point of view, we could be together or seperate if we wanted as each cottage offers its own privacy. The 4 and 6 year old loved the space in the barn and in the surrounding garden and fields, including a very large trampoline! The games room was suitable for all ages, with a pool, football and table tennis table, along with a long chalk board for the children (and adults!) to draw on. Do be organised with your food as it is some way to the nearest shop - but that was the beauty of Dukes Farm. Also be warned there is no mobile phone signal, which was great for most of us! (But there is wifi) Both Ken and Ruth extremely helpful both before and during our stay and very eco friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Being able to eat with our whole group in the barn kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing