We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous barn, hosts and setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
168 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 168 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
karennels...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous barn, hosts and setting”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have stayed in many barns throughout Britain, but this has to be one of the best we have had the pleasure of staying in. The setting is fantastic, so peaceful and quiet. The views are amazing. The owners Ruth and Ken couldn't be more helpful and informative as they have great knowledge of the local areas, so much so that Ruth has written a book and its well worth a read!!
Goose Cotts Barn has everything you need for a relaxing stay, well equipped and Ken and Ruth provide provisions on arrival. The wood burner warms the whole of the barn and creates a very cosy and romantic setting
We have already recommended this place to our colleagues and will be spreading the word to our friends and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Barn
Liked least: Single track roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_D_McL
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in the accommodation for two. It has been superbly restored for holiday use, and has everything needed, including a stove for cold days. There is very good information and maps provided and we really enjoyed meeting the owners who are genuine about wanting guests to enjoy themselves and relax. In addition to farming the land for many years we also had the impression they care very much for the area , so we credit them and their neighbours for keeping the local landscape so green and pleasant. There are many restaurant options in the area, great walking and it is a short drive from Hay on Wye. The views are superb.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wow!! what a beautiful place to stay. Ruth and Ken were so lovely, very helpful and informative, and really welcoming. The house was brilliant. it had everything you need, was super cosy and really homely. The views were unlike any thing i have ever seen. staring out in to the valleys, was the most relaxing and breath taking experience. we had no car, so we ordered an online shop, and had local walks. I could of happily stayed at the house all day every day and enjoy the beautiful picturesque surroundings. We will return!! Thanks Ruth and Ken for sharing your unique amazing home Kelly x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Benderloch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and cosy romantic retreat in stunning countryside”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A lovely location with charismatic buildings in a relaxed farm setting. Everything you could want can be catered for by the friendly and helpful owners, with a wealth of information available for the myriad of local walks and hikes - so many things to see and do! We came for our long-awaited honeymoon, so we could just relax and hide from the world and it was perfect, even down to the swathes of daffodils and cute new lambs on the hill! There is beautiful countryside on the doorstep for rambling through the day, and then what can be better than coming home to curl up in front of a log burner with some wine and board games and then to the comfiest king sized bed with a lovely skylight to the stars! Everything has been thought of and provided, including maps, a history of the area, basic provisions and The luxury of having underfloor heating so there wasn't the chill in the morning when you are getting ready for the day! Can't wait to find the time to come back, although it's a long journey, well worth it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne W
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely family stay for my mum's 80th birthday. As there were 13 of us ranging from 2-85yrs, we needed somewhere to accodate us all. The setting was beautiful and we had s great time. Ruth was more than helpful. Would recommend the crown inn for Sunday lunch!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$544
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing