We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing stay in comfortable accomodation...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SHIRLEY16...
Burntwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing stay in comfortable accomodation with stunning views.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We loved our stay in this beautiful peaceful spot. Ruth and Ken are really friendly and helpful hosts and provided many extras in the accommodation. The area is very good for walking, and there were plenty of maps and books readily available on the area. We would love to make a return stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaC015
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charming cottage for chill out!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely character Goose cottage for two people. Quite a bit off the beaten track but the remoteness is part of the charm. You are amongst such dramatic scenery you cannot help but relax! Cottage very comfortable with everything you need. We enjoyed lovely cosy evenings with luxury ready meals! The wood burner kept you very warm. Plenty to see in an area of outstanding scenery and Ruth was at hand to give you any local information should you require it. One of the nicest cottages we have stayed in in this country. Thank you for having us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better stay, the cottage was beautiful and felt so homely and is also in a fantastic location with many great walks and close distance to a great pub. Ken and Ruth the hosts have thought of everything and are two of the nicest people you could meet. we got back yesterday and are already planning our next visit and would strongly recommend staying here .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VixEllis
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“we came, we relaxed, we played, we fell in love”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Ruth and Ken have hit the jackpot here. We stayed with two other families and our 7 children aged between 2 and 9. we really couldn't have asked for more. Between us we rented the Swallow Barn & The Granary. Such wonderfully welcoming and well equipped rental properties I could go on and on about how amazing they are. They were stylish, comfy, spacious but incredibly cosy with possibly the most comfortable beds and bed linen that I have ever experienced. It was truly a wrench to leave. Delightful walks in every direction, to explore the breathtaking views…you need to go out and make sure they are real! If that seems like too much of an effort after a boozy saturday night then why not enjoy a spot of trampolining, or check out the games room for some table football, ping pong and my favourite, darts. joyous. Ruth couldn't have made us feel more at home, she is the most perfect hostess. I would like to be more like her! We even left with a couple of turnips! This really is the country retreat that you fantasise about owning only BETTER. Thank you Ruth & Ken. You are an inspiration. I would recommend this to everyone and we will definitely be back.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris_rea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Birthday suprise”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My Partner surpised me with a stay at Dukes farm in the smaller Goose Cotts building. This is the most beautiful place we have both ever stayed, both the views and the surrounding area play a helping hand in making Dukes farm amazing.The cottage speaks for itself - Cosy, warm, clean and comfortable. It really was a perfect weekend away.
Everything you could need from tea and coffee to wellies is readily available and creates a sense of homeliness whilst away.

Thankyou very much to both Ken and Ruth - You have got everything right!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything - what's not to love
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing