We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
49
44
25
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
44
25
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild coast the river games room hidden gem staff were very friendly dining room beautiful surroundings table tennis sardine run horse ride tea plantation sardines lovely beach live entertainment south africans early morning well taken care
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2019

we were staying in a house right near the lodge. We wanted to go in and have a look and perhaps have a drink or a meal. We were told that we were not allowed in as we were not residents. The lodge was might empty as well. When we asked why they said that they cater for international residents and dont want them disturbed.
Well Mbotyi River Lodge I would suggest that you get your act together and sort out the litter that is right outside your gate if your are concerned about International visitors. Surely one of your staff could clean it up every day. The beach is full of litter as well and the locals are always drinking and very aggressive on the beach.
Your attitude and the whole area leaves a lot to be desired.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank typistdutrevou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

The views were amazing; but our rooms were filthy with ceilings falling apart; rusted fans; disgusting bathrooms; leaking toilets and dirty furniture. Very disappointed with their lack of maintenance.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vuyotogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

2nd visit to the lodge with African Watersports for the Sardine Run. travelling to the lodge takes about 7 hours from Durban with the last stretch down a narrow dirt road but the views are spectacular. Checking in was a simple process and the boys helped us with our luggage. There is a main dining room and entertainment complex with the accommodation spread around. Breakfast was basic as we had a 6 am start. Lunch was available and then we had a set meal for dinner with four courses with two options for mains. One or two power cuts but I think the lodge has its own generator if it is going to be off for long. No Wifi so 3G required for those that can’t bear to be without mobiles glued to their nose. Plenty of scenic walks and waterfalls to visit for the non-divers

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lostsoul2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Been here twice in two years. Food is outstanding. Chalet is neat and clean. Rooms are big and spacious. Loved my view. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Favourite was the fire in the main section where I could read my book in peace.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Annieaquawild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Spent two nights at Mbotyi lodge towards the end of May. Facilities are very good & accommodation comfortable. Visited the cows on the beach the first afternoon! During the second day we visited the 3 waterfalls. The one passed the Tea plantation is particularly impressive once you've discovered where to cross the river.
The lodge itself could be buzzing if there were rather more patrons in residence.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews