We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
50
44
25
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
44
25
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild coast the river games room hidden gem dining room beautiful surroundings table tennis staff were very friendly sardine run horse ride tea plantation no problem sardines lovely beach live entertainment south africans early morning
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Been here twice in two years. Food is outstanding. Chalet is neat and clean. Rooms are big and spacious. Loved my view. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Favourite was the fire in the main section where I could read my book in peace.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Annieaquawild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Spent two nights at Mbotyi lodge towards the end of May. Facilities are very good & accommodation comfortable. Visited the cows on the beach the first afternoon! During the second day we visited the 3 waterfalls. The one passed the Tea plantation is particularly impressive once you've discovered where to cross the river.
The lodge itself could be buzzing if there were rather more patrons in residence.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Lodge is beautifully located with excellent sea views. Food is good but could do with improvement. Bread wasn't fresh every day. Dinner staff was well trained and very helpful. But on the day we left there were no porters to help with our luggage which we had to carry up a hill ourselves.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank christiewooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

My sincerest apologies for someone not helping with the luggage. This is an oversight that we can deal with. I hope you enjoyed your freely upgraded accommodation tho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

What a breathtakingly beautiful place to kick your feet up! The back drops of the hills of the Pondoland cascading into the Indian Ocean! We spent our Honeymoon here and will never forget the hospitality and friendly nature of the Xhosa people!
Looking forward to Sardine Run 2018!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The campsites are not within the grounds of the Mbotyi River Lodge, but it is an community camp with campsites and chalets. that is being rented out by the Lodge. By staying there, don't give you access to any facilities within the Lodge. We were squashed in between the chalets, because of overbooking. The ablution facilities are good, clean and neat. The area is quit and peaceful and with beautiful surroundings.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank georgeaY8778DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews