We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
50
44
25
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
44
25
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild coast the river games room hidden gem dining room beautiful surroundings table tennis staff were very friendly sardine run horse ride tea plantation no problem sardines lovely beach live entertainment south africans early morning
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Lodge is beautifully located with excellent sea views. Food is good but could do with improvement. Bread wasn't fresh every day. Dinner staff was well trained and very helpful. But on the day we left there were no porters to help with our luggage which we had to carry up a hill ourselves.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank christiewooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

My sincerest apologies for someone not helping with the luggage. This is an oversight that we can deal with. I hope you enjoyed your freely upgraded accommodation tho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

What a breathtakingly beautiful place to kick your feet up! The back drops of the hills of the Pondoland cascading into the Indian Ocean! We spent our Honeymoon here and will never forget the hospitality and friendly nature of the Xhosa people!
Looking forward to Sardine Run 2018!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The campsites are not within the grounds of the Mbotyi River Lodge, but it is an community camp with campsites and chalets. that is being rented out by the Lodge. By staying there, don't give you access to any facilities within the Lodge. We were squashed in between the chalets, because of overbooking. The ablution facilities are good, clean and neat. The area is quit and peaceful and with beautiful surroundings.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank georgeaY8778DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We camped at the campsite next to Mbotyi River Lodge, and although the camp grounds were close to the sea and offered some protection from the wind while offering good views. The campsite turned into a mud bath and trying to get vehicles and trailers out was very challenging. I would only recommend using the campsite during out of season periods where you have a better chance of obtaining a light meal or drink/icecream from the lodge, otherwise be warned during high season you are treated like you are trespassing.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank adventurersa2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

As explained the campsite is a community based project - We assist the community in taking booking on their behalf and it goes into their bank account. This and the fact that hotel amenities are unavailable to campsite guests is clearly explained on all documentation that is emailed through. Our lodge guests in peak season pay prime rates and we therefore ensure that they recieve the best possible attention of the LODGE staff at all times. Unfortunately we are unable to predict the weather and when there is a downpour of more than 110mm in hours the grounds do become saturated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This may not be a luxurious resort however it is comfortable, clean and has amazing sea views

I loved staying here the service was amazing and the resort is a stones throw away from the beach.

Eastern Cape is an untouched piece of heaven and Mboyti is a comfortable place to experience it

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CandiceM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews