We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
50
44
24
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
44
24
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild coast the river games room hidden gem dining room beautiful surroundings table tennis staff were very friendly sardine run horse ride tea plantation lovely beach south africans early morning well taken care out of the way hiking options
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We have just returned from an incredibly relaxed stay at Mbotyi river lodge, which is only a short distance from our home. We needed a chilled, relaxed place to unwind and enjoy not too far from home. It surpassed all our expectations. Juan and her staff were beyond brilliant. We had people with us with special dietary requirements. No problem here. We wanted to chill and enjoy all the activities. No problem here. We did not want to fuss about food and accommodation and just be. No problem here either. The live entertainment from Lance was beyond exceptional. A really nice touch in the evenings when you do not want to hear others conversations or cutlery clutter. A vast array of music and his sunny and happy to please attitude. Mbotyi, you outdid yourselves. My heart was sore to leave but only to return again soon. Thank you to everyone here. I would recommend it to everyone all over the world.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank OffshoreAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Really nice place to stay. Staff are great and really helpful and it is right beside the ocean! We were lucky to get a seaview room and it was beautiful! Few lizards here and there but that's normal for the area! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jetsetter2393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

You have to be a bit determined to get to Mbotyi - the last 20 or so kilometres is on unpaved road through tea plantations. But the trip is worth it. The Lodge is set in beautifully manicured grounds with direct access to several miles of beach. The walk along the beach through several small coves is a pure delight.
The staff in the Lodge are enthusiastic and helpful. The food is superb, albeit from a very limited menu.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We went to Mbotyi for a nostalgic family reunion. As kids, alas all too many years ago, we used to holiday most Julys at Drewe"s camp a few k further north up the coast. Each time we would trek to Mbotyi to visit my Dad's old Scots buddy, Jack Barber, who owned the trading store at Mbotyi - long since gone.

Given all the horror stories we had heard about the Wild Coast and Pondoland in particular, we wondered what would await us. Yes there were some dreadful things which happened in the wake of Chris Hani's assassination, but that was over twenty years ago! But what of the roads? We checked out with friends in Kokstad who assured us all would be fine and that most who complained were basing it on ancient history. So tar all the way to Lusikisiki, then a reasonable dirt road thereafter - the steep descent through the forests to Mbotyi are also tarred for easier access. But if you're worried, just check with the lodge - you don't need a 4x4 or high clearance vehicle. Just take your time and enjoy the trip.

Several of our party stayed at the Lodge and loved it. Don't expect a five star restaurant and gourmet food - this is not one of those fancy eco lodges reserved for those with hard currencies!! But you will have good food, a great pub, and super, comfortable rooms - with spectacular views of the beach.

There's lots to see and do - or just simply veg on the beach and chill!. The Magwa falls are spectacular and a must visit - what a paradise this could be for eco tourists!! Do wander north up the beach as far as you can go (about 4 k) - and, then, if you're energetic, continue on the path as it ascends sugar mountain. `Climb up to the top of the sugar mountain to see the rugged coastline to the north of you - to the south are the endless beaches of this glorious, and still unspoilt coast. And for those of you who love to fish, this has to be one of the best fishing spots in SA. Get a local guide - the lodge will help you - and go do your thing!

We must have stressed the lodge catering staff as we planned a banquet for nearly thirty people - it was a 70th birthday dinner and folks had come from around the country and as far away as Toronto, Canada. The staff pulled out all stops and really we could not have been happier.

So do go - the rates are reasonable. If self catering is your thing, they do have a cottage and an adjacent camping ground. Some of our party stayed in those and were very happy. So no excuses - just go do it!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank malcolm1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We had a wonderful family celebration at Mboyti River lodge in february.
The location is stunning with a relaxed chilled atmosphere.
Food is good and rooms are clean and very comfortable and serviced daily.
Beautiful sea views from sea facing rooms.
The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful celebration for 26 family members.
Beautiful walks, day trips to various stunning falls, unspoilt beaches.
We loved seeing cows happy on the beach and crossing rivers.
Various outings with guides , 4x4 trips and birding outings can be arranged at reception.
So if you are looking for a relaxed family holiday to recharge your batteries in the most stunning location, Mboyti is the place for you.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view or lagoon view
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary66v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews