We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodge on the Transki Coast”
Review of Mbotyi River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbotyi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mbotyi River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We have been visit the Transkei for over 30 years now, we recently stayed in this lodge with our 93 year old mother. We had a really nice break together.
Watching the Whales splashing around in the sea from our bedroom veranda was a fantastic experience. The staff are good, and the food was very nice.
All in all, this lodge was far better than I could have ever imagined.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the front rooms for the best views out over the beach to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank keltronNiamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We have just returned from an incredibly relaxed stay at Mbotyi river lodge, which is only a short distance from our home. We needed a chilled, relaxed place to unwind and enjoy not too far from home. It surpassed all our expectations. Juan and her staff were beyond brilliant. We had people with us with special dietary requirements. No problem here. We wanted to chill and enjoy all the activities. No problem here. We did not want to fuss about food and accommodation and just be. No problem here either. The live entertainment from Lance was beyond exceptional. A really nice touch in the evenings when you do not want to hear others conversations or cutlery clutter. A vast array of music and his sunny and happy to please attitude. Mbotyi, you outdid yourselves. My heart was sore to leave but only to return again soon. Thank you to everyone here. I would recommend it to everyone all over the world.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OffshoreAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Really nice place to stay. Staff are great and really helpful and it is right beside the ocean! We were lucky to get a seaview room and it was beautiful! Few lizards here and there but that's normal for the area! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jetsetter2393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

You have to be a bit determined to get to Mbotyi - the last 20 or so kilometres is on unpaved road through tea plantations. But the trip is worth it. The Lodge is set in beautifully manicured grounds with direct access to several miles of beach. The walk along the beach through several small coves is a pure delight.
The staff in the Lodge are enthusiastic and helpful. The food is superb, albeit from a very limited menu.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We went to Mbotyi for a nostalgic family reunion. As kids, alas all too many years ago, we used to holiday most Julys at Drewe"s camp a few k further north up the coast. Each time we would trek to Mbotyi to visit my Dad's old Scots buddy, Jack Barber, who owned the trading store at Mbotyi - long since gone.

Given all the horror stories we had heard about the Wild Coast and Pondoland in particular, we wondered what would await us. Yes there were some dreadful things which happened in the wake of Chris Hani's assassination, but that was over twenty years ago! But what of the roads? We checked out with friends in Kokstad who assured us all would be fine and that most who complained were basing it on ancient history. So tar all the way to Lusikisiki, then a reasonable dirt road thereafter - the steep descent through the forests to Mbotyi are also tarred for easier access. But if you're worried, just check with the lodge - you don't need a 4x4 or high clearance vehicle. Just take your time and enjoy the trip.

Several of our party stayed at the Lodge and loved it. Don't expect a five star restaurant and gourmet food - this is not one of those fancy eco lodges reserved for those with hard currencies!! But you will have good food, a great pub, and super, comfortable rooms - with spectacular views of the beach.

There's lots to see and do - or just simply veg on the beach and chill!. The Magwa falls are spectacular and a must visit - what a paradise this could be for eco tourists!! Do wander north up the beach as far as you can go (about 4 k) - and, then, if you're energetic, continue on the path as it ascends sugar mountain. `Climb up to the top of the sugar mountain to see the rugged coastline to the north of you - to the south are the endless beaches of this glorious, and still unspoilt coast. And for those of you who love to fish, this has to be one of the best fishing spots in SA. Get a local guide - the lodge will help you - and go do your thing!

We must have stressed the lodge catering staff as we planned a banquet for nearly thirty people - it was a 70th birthday dinner and folks had come from around the country and as far away as Toronto, Canada. The staff pulled out all stops and really we could not have been happier.

So do go - the rates are reasonable. If self catering is your thing, they do have a cottage and an adjacent camping ground. Some of our party stayed in those and were very happy. So no excuses - just go do it!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank malcolm1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbotyi
28,4 km away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
213 reviews
25,2 km away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
75 reviews
24,4 km away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbotyi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbotyi River Lodge

Address: Pondoland, Mbotyi 4820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mbotyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mbotyi
Hotel Class:3 star — Mbotyi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mbotyi River Lodge, the Wild Coast's leading seaside hotel we offer a range of accommodation options for couples, groups, families or corporate and conference bookings. Guests enjoy a comfortable 3 star hotel experience at this wonderfully remote Wild Coast resort. Our bedrooms all have a private balcony or patio to enjoy the wonderful views whether it is of the sea, the lagoon or valley. All rooms also offer tea and coffee making facilities, a ceiling fan and a safe for your valuables. We have 48 well appointed, en-suite rooms of which 36 are log cabins and 12 in thatched units that blend beautifully into the lush natural environment of Pondoland. 12 Rooms interconnect - perfect for families. We also cater for sporting, adventure and conference groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing