We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mbotyi River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa(Southbroom)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Umzimvubu Retreat(Port St Johns)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
46
43
22
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
43
22
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild coastgames roomdirt roadriver lodgehidden gemdining roomtable tennisrooms are cleanbeautiful surroundingslocal guidehorse rideno problemlovely beachlive entertainmentself cateringsouth africansearly morning
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We had a wonderful family celebration at Mboyti River lodge in february.
The location is stunning with a relaxed chilled atmosphere.
Food is good and rooms are clean and very comfortable and serviced daily.
Beautiful sea views from sea facing rooms.
The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful celebration for 26 family members.
Beautiful walks, day trips to various stunning falls, unspoilt beaches.
We loved seeing cows happy on the beach and crossing rivers.
Various outings with guides , 4x4 trips and birding outings can be arranged at reception.
So if you are looking for a relaxed family holiday to recharge your batteries in the most stunning location, Mboyti is the place for you.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view or lagoon view
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary66v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Our first visit to this gem... definitely would be back and would make sure to use all the attractions available. Love the setting. Enjoyed the food and great hospitality. Beautiful surroundings. Lots to see in the area.

Room Tip: Request a sea facing unit
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank paul2607199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This was our first time to Mbotyi and as long as your expectations are in line you will have a fabulous, relaxing experience. If you are looking for luxury then this is not the place for you. If you want a chilled resort, with good food, that goes out of it's way to make you comfortable then this is the place for you. Rooms are clean and simple, but the location is fantastic. Hiking, beaches, birding and sight seeing are world-class here. Make sure you visit Magwa, Angel and most of all Fraser Falls. They are simply stunning and can all be seen on a short journey from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andrewrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful three nights in this hotel. The grounds are well kept, the pool refreshing and the beach beautiful.

We braved the 28km hike to waterfall bluff which was tough but worth it. Unfortunately there was some confusion around the cost, the reception told us it would be R250 for two, but the guide expected R250 each.

Food is good and we really enjoyed our meal times, highlight was the steak, better than the seafood platter. We liked the fact that there was no cost to use the kayaks, and the guard helped us carry them to the estuary.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelerNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely campsite with clean ablutions. Far from the beach (no seaview). The people at Mbotyi River Lodge were very unhelpful and NOT accomodating towards the campers at all. We were not allowed to use any of the lodge's facilities (not even the use of the shop to buy ice, water etc). It states on the website that campers may use the facilities, but when we arrive we were told that it's only allowed during low season (which is not stated on the website). We packed up after 2 days and found accommodation elsewhere. We will definitely not be back!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BiancaBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Hi Bianca

My apologies that you did not enjoy yourself. The campsite is actually a community based project in total and we assist them only with their bookings as a service to the community for no charge. During season our lodge guests pay prime and look for their privacy without having to fight for a space in the pool or bar. As ALL meals are included we cater only for our in house guests. During the low season when lunch is not included we dont mind outside guests enjoying our facilities as we are able to logistically cater for them. On the other hand had you been a hotel guest you would truly have enjoyed our spoils.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews