We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to enjoy Wild Coast!”
Review of Mbotyi River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbotyi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mbotyi River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our SA tour and truely enjoyed our time at Mbotyi River Lodge! We were greeted by the owner upon arrival (it is some 24km of dirt road but doable by car) and showed around the premises. Our room was cosy and clean, beds pretty comfy. We went for a hike along the beach and enjoyed the wind and the sea!! Dinner was superb! Homey, traditional: loved the pumpkin soup!! We wish we could have stayed a bit longer!

Stayed: November 2016
Thank BobbyJane021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It is truly appreciate and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

After running 21km we stumbled through the gate & into the pool. We organised drinks at the bar & were called for toasted sandwiches in the restaurant.
The rooms were clean & practical. The view stunning. The toilets a bit prone to break after 1st flush, but quickly fixed. Thin walls makes for limited privacy and lots of noise from people moving about in their rooms.
Dinner was bland & breakfast was great.
Games room was awesome

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank elliecourts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This is the third time we have visited Mbotyi River Lodge, the first for 4 of our friends who came with us, we stayed four days and if it wasn't for the weather which wasn't great, would loved to have stayed much longer. From the time of booking to the time of departure, we were treated very well by all the staff, Blain was very accommodating with our requests of having baths in some rooms and showers in the others, the dining room staff were great, friendly and put up with all our nonsense with a smile on their faces. The food was great, nothing overly fancy but really very good with a great seafood evening on Saturday evening, although there weren't many people in the hotel, they still went out of their way to present a superb platter. The road is a bit of a mission but take it easy and you will make it with a normal car. My one and only gripe is that when one walks through the gate towards the beach, there is litter, broken bottles and all sorts lying around, surely one could send a member of staff to pick up the litter on a daily basis, I realize it's not the hotels property but it does make a negative impression the minute of walk out the gate. Other than that, it is a great place, and we will most certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views of either the lagoon or sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

One of the stars of the Wild Coast- it takes a bit of getting to, but it is quite do-able in a normal car. A beautiful setting and within reach of several waterfalls and other scenic highlights. Some of these, for example, Luphatana, are only accessible in 4x4 vehicles. The restaurant and bar are relaxed and have a relaxed and friendly ambience. Staff are helpful and friendly and food is good and ample.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zotsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We spent 5 days at Mbotyi River Lodge and loved every minute. Not posh or fancy, but has everything you could ask for: beautiful views, very comfortable room, friendly staff, knowledgeable guides, wonderful walks, lovely food, and blissfully quiet. We felt so welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clareh0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Hi Clare
Thank you for the awesome review we really appreciate it. You were such a pleasure to have

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbotyi
25.2 km away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
75 reviews
24.4 km away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
69 reviews
24.4 km away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#5 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
213 reviews
29.2 km away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
30 reviews
0.0 km away
Lennox Guest House
Lennox Guest House
#3 of 14 in Dundee
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbotyi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbotyi River Lodge

Address: Pondoland, Mbotyi 4820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mbotyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mbotyi
Hotel Class:3 star — Mbotyi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mbotyi River Lodge, the Wild Coast's leading seaside hotel we offer a range of accommodation options for couples, groups, families or corporate and conference bookings. Guests enjoy a comfortable 3 star hotel experience at this wonderfully remote Wild Coast resort. Our bedrooms all have a private balcony or patio to enjoy the wonderful views whether it is of the sea, the lagoon or valley. All rooms also offer tea and coffee making facilities, a ceiling fan and a safe for your valuables. We have 48 well appointed, en-suite rooms of which 36 are log cabins and 12 in thatched units that blend beautifully into the lush natural environment of Pondoland. 12 Rooms interconnect - perfect for families. We also cater for sporting, adventure and conference groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing