We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mbotyi River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$137
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa(Southbroom)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Umzimvubu Retreat(Port St Johns)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
46
43
22
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
43
22
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild coastgames roomdirt roadriver lodgehidden gemdining roomtable tennisrooms are cleanbeautiful surroundingslocal guidehorse rideno problemlovely beachlive entertainmentself cateringsouth africansearly morning
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This is the third time we have visited Mbotyi River Lodge, the first for 4 of our friends who came with us, we stayed four days and if it wasn't for the weather which wasn't great, would loved to have stayed much longer. From the time of booking to the time of departure, we were treated very well by all the staff, Blain was very accommodating with our requests of having baths in some rooms and showers in the others, the dining room staff were great, friendly and put up with all our nonsense with a smile on their faces. The food was great, nothing overly fancy but really very good with a great seafood evening on Saturday evening, although there weren't many people in the hotel, they still went out of their way to present a superb platter. The road is a bit of a mission but take it easy and you will make it with a normal car. My one and only gripe is that when one walks through the gate towards the beach, there is litter, broken bottles and all sorts lying around, surely one could send a member of staff to pick up the litter on a daily basis, I realize it's not the hotels property but it does make a negative impression the minute of walk out the gate. Other than that, it is a great place, and we will most certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views of either the lagoon or sea
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

One of the stars of the Wild Coast- it takes a bit of getting to, but it is quite do-able in a normal car. A beautiful setting and within reach of several waterfalls and other scenic highlights. Some of these, for example, Luphatana, are only accessible in 4x4 vehicles. The restaurant and bar are relaxed and have a relaxed and friendly ambience. Staff are helpful and friendly and food is good and ample.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zotsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We spent 5 days at Mbotyi River Lodge and loved every minute. Not posh or fancy, but has everything you could ask for: beautiful views, very comfortable room, friendly staff, knowledgeable guides, wonderful walks, lovely food, and blissfully quiet. We felt so welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clareh0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Hi Clare
Thank you for the awesome review we really appreciate it. You were such a pleasure to have

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

paradise at the end of a reasonable gravel road for about 25kms.....scenery is OUTSTANDING.staff, friendly, welcoming.
restaurant, basic but comfortable, food, old home style delicious.
thatch rooms facing lagoon, T5 as I had is poor. hope the other rooms are of better quality.

Room Tip: log cabins may be better.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N9434WFvictorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Looking for a remote beach holiday with a variety of activities, Mbotyi was the perfect destination. We enjoyed birding, canoeing, hiking to the waterfalls, the pleasure of an open and quiet beach and friendly and helpful staff.
We found the accommodation perfectly adequate with good food and wonderful seafood dinner dishes.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews