We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mbotyi River Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mbotyi
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
46
43
21
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
43
21
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild coastgames roomdirt roadriver lodgehidden gemdining roomtable tennisrooms are cleanbeautiful surroundingslocal guidehorse rideno problemlovely beachlive entertainmentself cateringsouth africansearly morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We spent 5 days at Mbotyi River Lodge and loved every minute. Not posh or fancy, but has everything you could ask for: beautiful views, very comfortable room, friendly staff, knowledgeable guides, wonderful walks, lovely food, and blissfully quiet. We felt so welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clareh0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Hi Clare
Thank you for the awesome review we really appreciate it. You were such a pleasure to have

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

paradise at the end of a reasonable gravel road for about 25kms.....scenery is OUTSTANDING.staff, friendly, welcoming.
restaurant, basic but comfortable, food, old home style delicious.
thatch rooms facing lagoon, T5 as I had is poor. hope the other rooms are of better quality.

Room Tip: log cabins may be better.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N9434WFvictorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Looking for a remote beach holiday with a variety of activities, Mbotyi was the perfect destination. We enjoyed birding, canoeing, hiking to the waterfalls, the pleasure of an open and quiet beach and friendly and helpful staff.
We found the accommodation perfectly adequate with good food and wonderful seafood dinner dishes.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

A magic gem in the Transkei, The rooms have fantastic sea views, the staff are super helpful and friendly, the food is amazing. I loved the long walks, the cows on the beach and the great fishing and diving.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have best views.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gav_Jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We spent an amazing nine days at Mbotyi River Lodge. A perfect place to relax, the meals are excellent and the staff are friendly and most accommodating. Will definitely be back. Thank you, Mike, Mia and Nikita

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isolutionssystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank yo Mike, Mia & Nikita for the awesome review. Hope to see you back here soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews